Triumph of the Spirit Award Celebration

banner image


The 2021 Triumph of the Spirit Award Celebration

Thursday, November 18, 2021, 6 to 9 p.m.
The Highland Dallas hotel

In these unprecedented and trying times, we invite you to be a part of moving our community toward hope and kindness. On Thursday, November 18, 2021, from 6 to 9 p.m. at the Highland Dallas hotel, join the SMU Human Rights Program as we celebrate with 400 philanthropists, activists and friends our fourth biennial Triumph of the Spirit Award. This year will highlight World Kindness Day with five exceptional honorees from our community whose efforts toward justice and peace are shining examples of their commitment to human rights. There will be a week of celebrating with signs around town where people can be the "I" in KIND, culminating in our celebration.

The 2021 Triumph of the Spirit Award Champions of Kindess include:

  • Jorge Baldor, founder of the Latino Center for Leadership Development, which builds a pipeline of leaders and ideas for the Latino community while raising awareness on issues of racial justice, policy advocacy, education, government and global relations.

  • Jin-Ya Huang, founder of Break Bread, Break Borders, where refugee women are economically empowered by cooking for a living and catering for a cause.

  • Enrique MacGregor and Mark Niermann, founders of The Gay and Lesbian Fund for Dallas, which since 2001 has given close to $2 million to 22 Dallas-area nonprofits advancing equality for those in the LGBTQ community while nurturing inclusive partnerships and friendships.

  • Robin Bagwell, member of the board of directors for New Friends New Life, for her work to restore and empower formerly trafficked teen girls and sexually exploited women to overcome and thrive.

  • Mandy Price, CEO & Co-Founder, Kanarys, Inc. for her work to build inclusive work cultures and her commitment to creating a world where diversity is sought after, inclusiveness is honored and equity is evident.

  • Santander Consumer USA Foundation for their commitment to making education accessible to all from first generation entrepreneurs and POC to foster youth, veterans and more.

We invite you to consider the sponsorship opportunities below and become an essential part of this historic event. The funds raised directly benefit the students and initiatives of the SMU Human Rights Program, which was established in 2006 and launched a bachelor of arts degree in human rights (one of only seven in the nation) in 2012.

Your support is essential to preserve and grow this important initiative creating a long-lasting ripple effect touching our region, the human rights leaders of the future, and the lives of the vulnerable.

We invite you to consider the sponsorship opportunities below for becoming part of this historic event. (If you would like to donate but cannot attend the event, you can be a sponsor and decline your seat tickets on a later screen.)

A look back at the 2018 TOS Awards

The 2018 Triumph of the Spirit Award Global recipients were Nazi Hunters Beate and Serge Klarsfeld. For more than five decades, this married couple has brought war criminals to justice across the globe and helped restore the names and faces of Nazi victims. The 2018 Triumph of the Spirit Award Dallas honorees were the Docents of the Dallas Holocaust Museum. This elite team of North Texas educators is dedicated to teaching the history of the Holocaust and advancing human rights to combat prejudice, hatred, and indifference.

The ceremony gathered educators, activists, philanthropists, and leaders from Dallas and far beyond. It showcased a variety of creative expressions in celebration of the diverse struggle for human rights occurring across the globe. 

Honorary Co-Chairs

  • Ann and J.D. Dell

  • Dee and Trey Velvin

Host Committee
As of May 3, 2021

  • Craig Adams

  • Lori and Jon Altschuler

  • Pam Gerber and Dr. Suzanne Slonim

  • Paula and Jeff Hayes

  • Mary Pat Higgins

  • Tiffany Jelke

  • Martha and Mark Johnston

  • Margaret and Lester Keliher

  • Michele Valdez and Gary Kennedy

  • Nancy and Mike Kerr

  • Ashlee and Chris Kleinert

  • Cynthia and Mike Landen

  • Caren Lock

  • Cathy and Harold MacDowell

  • R. Mateo Magdeleno

  • Caroline McElroy

  • Wendy and Boyd Messman

  • Juliette and Mark Moussa

  • Connie and Chris O’Neill

  • Jan and Scott Osborn

  • Sarah Rathjen

  • Jane Rose

  • Jaynie Schultz

  • Beth and Chuck Thoele

  • Linda Valdez Thompson

  • Nancy and Jack Zogg