Nominations Open Through Feb. 15 for 2023 Woodrow B. Seals Laity Award


DALLAS (SMU) – Nominations are now open for the 2023 Perkins School of Theology Woodrow B. Seals Laity Award and will be accepted through February 15, 2023. The annual award is presented to a layperson in the United States who exemplifies an exceptional commitment of service to Christ through faith and action in the church, community and world. Awarded first in 1993, the award has been presented to more than 50 distinguished laypersons throughout the years.

The Seals Award receives support from the Howard-Holbert Endowment Fund and honors Judge Woodrow B. Seals (1917-1990), a distinguished layperson whose interest and energy were instrumental in establishing the Perkins Theological School for the Laity.

The 2021 Woodrow B. Seals Laity Award recipients were Nancy Seay, a philanthropist and elder of Highland Park Presbyterian Church, and Lisa Tichenor, an active community leader and lay member of Highland Park United Methodist Church. See a complete list of past recipients here.

Presentation of the 2023 Seals Laity Award will take place during the worship service for the Perkins Summit for Faith and Learning, scheduled for March 24-25, 2023.

Nominations must include:

  • A one- to four-page document including a biographical narrative and examples of nominee’s activities showing commitment to Christian service in the church, community and world
  • Three letters of recommendation from clergy and lay leadership of nominee’s congregation and/or denomination, as well as supplemental letters of support from officials in other church or community organizations
  • Contact information for the primary sponsor who will serve as the contact for Perkins School of Theology

The sponsor should compile all nomination materials and mail or email as one package.

Selection is made by a committee of the Perkins Lay Advisory Board. Nominations remain active for three years including the year of submission.

Nominations should be submitted by February 15, 2023 to:
The Woodrow B. Seals Laity Award Committee
c/o Director of the Office of External Programs
Perkins School of Theology
PO Box 750133
Dallas, TX 75275-0133

Or by email to:

View Additional Information about the Woodrow B. Seals Laity Award.


Perkins School of Theology, founded in 1911, is one of five official University-related schools of theology of The United Methodist Church. Degree programs include the Master of Divinity, Master of Sacred Music, Master of Theological Studies, Master of Arts in Ministry, Master of Theology, Doctor of Ministry, and Doctor of Pastoral Music as well as the Ph.D., in cooperation with The Graduate Program in Religious Studies at SMU's Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences.