Nominations Open Through Dec. 17 for 2022 Woodrow B. Seals Laity Award


DALLAS (SMU) – Nominations are now open for the 2022 Perkins School of Theology Woodrow B. Seals Laity Award and will be accepted through December 17, 2021. The annual award is presented to a layperson in the United States who exemplifies an exceptional commitment of service to Christ through faith and action in the church, community and world. Awarded first in 1993, the award has been presented to more than 50 distinguished laypersons throughout the years.

The Seals Award receives support from the Howard-Holbert Endowment Fund, and honors Judge Woodrow B. Seals (1917-1990), a distinguished layperson whose interest and energy were instrumental in establishing the Perkins Theological School for the Laity.

The 2021 Woodrow B. Seals Laity Award recipients were Nancy Seay, a philanthropist and elder of Highland Park Presbyterian Church, and Lisa Tichenor, an active community leader and lay member of Highland Park United Methodist Church. The 2020 recipient was Mary White, a faithful United Methodist, church leader, volunteer and retired educator. See a complete list of past recipients here.

Presentation of the 2022 Seals Laity Award will take place during the worship service for the Perkins Summit for Faith and Learning, to be held March 24-26, 2022.

Nominations must include:

  • A one- to four-page document including a biographical narrative and examples of nominee’s activities showing commitment to Christian service in the church, community and world
  • Three letters of recommendation from clergy and lay leadership of nominee’s congregation and/or denomination, as well as supplemental letters of support from officials in other church or community organizations
  • Contact information for the primary sponsor who will serve as the contact for Perkins School of Theology

The sponsor should compile all nomination materials and mail or email as one package.

Selection is made by a committee of the Perkins Lay Advisory Board. Nominations remain active for three years including the year of submission.

Nominations should be submitted by December 17, 2021 to:

The Woodrow B. Seals Laity Award Committee
c/o Director of the Office of External Programs
Perkins School of Theology
PO Box 750133
Dallas, TX 75275-0133

Or by email to:

View Additional Information about the Woodrow B. Seals Laity Award.