Novelist Chandrahas Choudhury to Headline Perkins Indian Literature and History Event

DALLAS (SMU) – Even though the summer heat still rages, the feeling of fall is in the air, as students at Perkins School of Theology return to their studies and the Fall 2019 semester gets underway. The Houston-Galveston Extension Program kicks off on August 19 and classes begin on August 26 for students at the Dallas campus of SMU.

“We are excited to welcome new and returning students to our campuses in Dallas and Houston,” said Perkins Dean Craig Hill.  “This is a time of new beginnings and possibilities, as our campuses get back into high gear.” 

Intern orientation was held Aug. 13 on the Dallas campus. To prepare for effective Christian ministry, Perkins students undertake internships in a wide variety of ministry settings, with options as to type (full-time or part-time, church or agency), community (urban, suburban, rural), and denomination (in most cases in the student's own tradition).

Students in Perkins’ Houston-Galveston Extension Program will meet face-to-face at Houston Methodist Hospital August 19-24.  Launched in the fall of 2018, this groundbreaking distance-education program combines in-person classes with online study, enabling students to attend while still employed full- or part-time. For each class in which they’re enrolled, students are required to be physically present for 20 hours of face-to-face instruction — 10 hours at the beginning of the semester and 10 hours at the end. For the program’s entering class, New Student Orientation in Houston begins on August 19

New Student Orientation in Dallas takes place on August 23. On Monday, August 26, the Fall 2019 semester officially begins on the SMU-Dallas campus with the First Day of Classes. Two days later, students and faculty will gather for the Feast of Beginnings at 11:30 a.m. – 12:30 p.m. Wednesday, August 28 at the Great Hall of Elizabeth Perkins Prothro Hall, 5901 Bishop Boulevard. Dean Craig Hill will preach at this service of Word and Table.



Perkins School of Theology, founded in 1911, is one of five official University-related schools of theology of The United Methodist Church. Degree programs include the Master of Divinity, Master of Sacred Music, Master of Theological Studies, Master of Arts in Ministry, Master of Theology, Doctor of Ministry, and Doctor of Pastoral Music as well as the Ph.D., in cooperation with The Graduate Program in Religious Studies at SMU's Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences.