Seeking Nominations for 2015 Woodrow B. Seals Laity Award

DALLAS – Nominations for the 2015 Perkins School of Theology Woodrow B. Seals Laity Award are being accepted through December 5, 2014.

The annual award is presented to a layperson embodying the Christian faith and commitment of service to Christ as exemplified by Judge Seals, a distinguished layperson whose interest and energy were instrumental in establishing the Perkins Theological School for the Laity.

The 2014 Woodrow B. Seals Laity Award recipient was Bliss Dodd, a member of First United Methodist Church, Fort Worth, in the Central Texas Annual Conference. Previous recipients include Linda Marr, Dr. Kenneth and Lila Foree (2013), William E. "Bill" Turner (2012) and Jackie A. Strange (2011). See complete list of former recipients here.

Nominations must include:

  • A one- to four-page document including a biographical narrative and examples of nominee’s activities showing commitment to Christian service within the three areas of Church, Community, and World
  • A minimum of three and maximum of twelve letters of recommendation from clergy and lay leadership of nominee’s congregation and/or denomination, as well as supplemental letters of support from other church or community organizations and officials
  • Contact information for primary sponsor who will serve as the contact for Perkins School of Theology
The person submitting the nomination should compile all materials and mail as one package to:

Office of Public Affairs and Alumni/ae Relations 
Perkins School of Theology 
PO Box 750133
Dallas, TX 75275-0133

Alternatively, letters and other supporting documentation may be sent together as attachments via e-mail to:

Rev. Connie L. Nelson, 
Director of Public Affairs and Alumni/ae Relations

View Additional Information about Woodrow B. Seals Laity Award (PDF)