Senate President

President of the Faculty Senate 2020-2021:

Aurelie Thiele

Associate Professor
Engineering Management, Information and Systems

Office: Caruth 313
Tel: 214.768.3019


President Bio:


Aurélie C. Thiele received her “diplome d'ingénieur,” summa cum laude, from the Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Mines de Paris (Mines ParisTech) in France and her M.S. and Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from M.I.T. She joined SMU's Engineering Management, Information and Systems Department in the Lyle School of Engineering as an Associate Professor in 2016. Prior to joining SMU, she was an Assistant Professor and (tenured) Associate Professor of Industrial and Systems Engineering at Lehigh University in Bethlehem, PA, where she also served as the co-director of the Master of Science in Analytical Finance. She has received first prize in the George Nicholson paper competition, an IBM Faculty Award and multiple National Science Foundation grants based on her research in decision-making under high uncertainty, specifically, robust optimization. She has published numerous academic papers, including two that have been cited more than 500 times. A sought-after speaker on robust optimization throughout the world, Dr. Thiele was twice a Visiting Associate Professor at the University Paris-Dauphine in Paris, France and recently gave an invited talk at the Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology in Australia on her research. Forthcoming talks with be in Amsterdam, The Netherlands and Montréal, Canada. She believes that the SMU approach to higher education is the winning model of the future and is so proud to be calling SMU home. She is thrilled to be serving the university alongside her dedicated colleagues through the Faculty Senate and has been inspired to meet so many extraordinary faculty members since she joined SMU. She also serves on the President’s Commission on the Status of Women and the President's Scholars Selection Committee.


2004 Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, M.I.T.
2000 M.S. in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, M.I.T.
1999 “diplome d’ingénieur”, Ecole Nationale Supérieure des Mines de Paris.

Appointment to SMU: 2016

Honors, Fellowships and Scholarships (selected)

Invited tutorial speaker, Melbourne Royal Institute of Technology, 2019.
INFORMS (Institute for Operations Research and Management Science) Volunteer Service Award, Meritorious Level, 2016.
Participant to SMU Emerging Leaders program, 2016.
Visiting Associate Professor, Université Paris-Dauphine, May 2012, May 2013.
Finalist, IIE Excellence in Teaching Operations Research Award, 2010.
Invited tutorial speaker, Canadian Operational Research Society Annual Meeting, 2010.
IBM Faculty Award in Service Sciences, Management and Engineering, 2007.
P.C. Rossin Assistant Professorship, Lehigh University, 2006-2008.

External Professional Service (selected)

INFORMS (Institute for Operations Research and Management Science) Wagner Prize Competition: member (2017-2018).
INFORMS George E. Nicholson Student Paper Competition: member (2016-2018).
INFORMS Annual Meeting:  2016, 2017 New Faculty Colloquium co-chairperson, 2015 Organizing Committee member, TutORials co-chair.
INFORMS Analytics conference: 2015, 2016, 2017 Organizing Committee member, 2015 Early Career Connection co-chairperson.
INFORMS O.R. and Analytics Student Competition: member of inaugural organizing committee (2016-2017), chairperson of judging committee (2017).
INFORMS Professional Recognition committee: chairperson (2017-2018), member (2016-2017).
INFORMS Undergraduate Operations Research Student Paper Competition: chairwoman, 2015, member, 2014.

Academic Service (selected)

Presidential Scholars Selection Committee (2018-present).
Senator-at-Large, Southern Methodist University (2017-2020). Member of Finance Committee.
Provost's Taskforce on Faculty Salary Equity (2018-2019).
President's Commission on the Status of Women (2018-present).
Faculty advisory board member, Cary M. Maguire Center for Ethics and Public Responsibility, (2017-2020).
Co-chair, Lyle Research Day, Fall 2018, and EMIS judge, October 2016, March 2017.
Lyle strategic planning committee member, Spring 2018.
EMIS faculty search committee: member, Spring 2017, Spring 2018.


Past Presidents of the Faculty Senate