Deadlines

Fall Term 2022

August 22 – December 17, 2022

 

April 4-August 26, Monday–Friday: Enrollment for fall 2022 continuing students for all undergraduates and for graduates in Dedman College, Lyle, Meadows and Simmons.

May - August: Virtual Orientation experiences for new first-year and transfer undergraduate students. More information about Virtual Orientation is available from the Office of the Student Experience, Student Affairs, 214-768-4560 https://www.smu.edu/studentaffairs/newstudent.

TBD: NEW students schedule a move in time in the SMU Housing Portal.

TBD: RETURNING students schedule a move in time in the SMU Housing Portal.

TBA: Residence halls officially open.

August 21, Sunday: Opening Convocation, McFarlin Auditorium.

August 22, Monday: First day of classes.

August 26, Friday: Last day to enroll, add a course, or drop a course without tuition billing while remaining enrolled for the term. Last day to file for graduation in December.

September 2, Friday: Last day to drop a course without academic record (tuition charges apply). Last day to withdraw from the university without academic record (withdrawal refund schedule applies). See Bursar’s website for more information.

September 5, Monday: Labor Day. University offices closed.

September 7, Wednesday: Last day to declare pass/fail or no credit grading options. Last day to request an excused absence for the observance of a religious holiday.

September 23-24, Friday-Saturday: Family Weekend.

September 27, Tuesday: Early intervention grades due for designated undergraduate students.

September 28, Wednesday: Last day for continuing undergraduate students to change their majors before November enrollment.

October 10-11, Monday-Tuesday: Fall Break

October 21-22, Friday-Saturday: Homecoming Weekend.

October 23, Sunday: Midterm grades due for undergraduate students.

October 31, Monday: 60 percent point of the term that federal financial aid has been earned if a student officially withdraws from SMU; prior to this date a partial calculated return to federal programs will be required.

October 31-November 18, Monday–Friday: Enrollment for spring 2023 continuing students for all undergraduates and graduates in Dedman College, Lyle, Meadows and Simmons.

November 4, Friday: Last day to drop a course (grade of W). (This date does not apply to courses in which the last class meeting and final exam have occurred.)

November 10, Thursday: Last day for December graduation candidates to change grades of Incomplete, and to obtain a final grade for a grade of X or a missing grade from a previous term.

November 14, Monday: Students should file for May graduation. The last day to file is January 23, 2023.

November 22, Tuesday: Last day to withdraw from the University. (This date does not apply to courses in which the last class meeting and final exam have occurred.)

November 23, Wednesday: No classes.

November 24-25, Thursday–Friday: Thanksgiving holiday. University offices closed.

November 30-December 5, Wednesday-Monday: No final examinations or unscheduled tests and papers.

December 1, Thursday: Last day for oral/written examinations for December graduate degree candidates. 

December 5, Monday: Last day of classes.

December 6-7, Tuesday-Wednesday: Reading days.

December 8-14, Thursday–Wednesday: Examinations. (No examinations scheduled for Sunday).

December 15, Thursday: Residence halls close at 10:00 a.m. for winter break. (December graduates should contact the Department of Residence Life and Student Housing).

December 16, Friday: December Rotunda Recessional.

December 17, Saturday: December Commencement. Official close of term and conferral of degrees.

December 23–January 2, Friday-Monday: University closed.

December 25, Sunday: Christmas Day.