Deadlines

Spring Term 2023

January 17 – May 13, 2023

October 31–January 23, Monday–Monday: Enrollment for spring 2023 continuing students for all undergraduates and graduates in Dedman College, Lyle, Meadows and Simmons.

January: Virtual Orientation experiences for new first-year and transfer undergraduate students. More information about Virtual Orientation is available from the Office of the Student Experience, Student Affairs, 214-768-4560,https://www.smu.edu/studentaffairs/newstudent.

January 1, Sunday: New Year’s Day.

January 2, Monday: New Year’s Day observed. University offices closed.

TBA: Residential Communities open for Spring term for continuing and new residents.

January 13, Friday: Spring Rotunda Passage.

January 16, Monday: Martin Luther King, Jr. Day. University offices closed.

January 17, Tuesday: First day of classes.

January 23, Monday: Last day to enroll, add a course, or drop a course without tuition billing while remaining enrolled for the term. Last day to file for graduation in May.

January 30, Monday: Last day to drop a course without academic record (tuition charges apply). Last day to withdraw from the university without academic record (withdrawal refund schedule applies). See Bursar’s website for more information.

February 1, Wednesday: Last day to declare pass/fail or no credit grading options. Also, last day to request an excused absence for the observance of a religious holiday. (Spring Census Date)

February 17, Friday: Last day for continuing undergraduate students to change their majors before April enrollment.

February 21, Tuesday: Early intervention grades due for undergraduate students.

March 13-19, Monday-Sunday: Spring break

March 22, Wednesday: Midterm grades due for undergraduate students.

March 30, Thursday: 60 percent point of the term that federal financial aid has been earned if a student officially withdraws from SMU; prior to this date a partial calculated return to federal programs will be required.

April 3-21, Monday–Friday: Enrollment for summer 2023 and fall 2023 continuing students for all undergraduates and graduates in Dedman College, Lyle, Meadows and Simmons.

April 5, Wednesday: Last day to drop a course (grade of W). (This date does not apply to courses in which the last class meeting and final exam have occurred.)

April 7, Friday: Good Friday. University offices closed.

April 9, Sunday: Easter Sunday.

April 13, Thursday: Last Day for May graduation candidates to change grades of Incomplete, and to obtain a final grade for a grade of X or a missing grade from a previous term.

April 20, Thursday: Students may begin applying for August or December graduation. The deadline to apply for August graduation is June 2. The deadline to apply for December graduation is the last day to enroll for fall 2023.

April 24, Monday: Last day to withdraw from the University. (This date does not apply to courses in which the last class meeting and final exam have occurred.)

April 27-May 2, Thursday–Tuesday: No final examinations or unscheduled tests and papers.

April 28, Friday: Honors Convocation, 2:00 p.m.
April 28, Friday: 
Last day for oral/written examinations for graduate students who are May degree candidates.

May 2, Tuesday: Last day of classes. (Follows a Friday schedule.)

May 3, Wednesday: Reading Day.

May 4-10, Thursday-Wednesday: Examinations (No examinations scheduled for Sunday).

May 11, Thursday: Residence halls officially close for non-graduating students.

May 12, Friday: Baccalaureate.

May 13, Saturday: May Commencement. Official close of term and conferral of degrees.

May 14, Sunday: Residence halls officially close for graduating seniors.