International Film Festival

The World Languages and Literatures 7th Annual International Film Festival, Community, will take place in February-March 2022. 

Unless otherwise noted, screenings are held at 7 pm in McCord Auditorium (3rd floor of Dallas Hall). The festival is free and open to the public, but advance registration on Connect is requested for all members of the SMU community. Due to Covid-19 and social distancing requirements, seating may be limited.  Masks are strongly encouraged and requested.  

WEEK 1

Tuesday, February 8: Love and Pigeons (Russian)
Wednesday, February 9, 6 pm, McCord Auditorium: Dil Dhadakne Do (Hindi)
Thursday, February 10: Timbuktu (French)

WEEK 2

Tuesday, February 15: Leona (Spanish)
Wednesday, February 16: The Wonders (Italian)
Thursday, February 17: Where Do We Go Now? (Arabic)

WEEK 3

Monday, February 21: Italian American Baseball Family (English/Italian). Special presentation by the director of the documentary, Roberto Angotti
Tuesday, February 22: Like Father, Like Son (Japanese)
Wednesday, February 23 and Thursday, February 24 screenings have been postponed to March 9 and 31, respectively (see below), due to inclement weather 

WEEK 4

Tuesday, March 1, 3 pm, Hamon Arts Library: Film Vault Tour. Pre-registration required.

Register

Tuesday, March 1, 4 pm, Hawn Conference Center. Roundtable on “The Community of Cinema." More information here.

Tuesday, March 1, 5 pm, La Strada (Italian), 16mm screening, hosted by the G. William Jones Film & Video Collection. More information here.

Wednesday, March 2: Moscow Does Not Believe in Tears (Russian)

Thursday, March 3: The Farewell (Chinese)

WEEK 5

Tuesday, March 8: Mostly Martha (German). Pre-screening reception hosted by the Goethe Center at 6:15 pm.

Wednesday, March 9: Two Days, One Night (French)

Thursday, March 10 (Closing Night): All of Me (Spanish). Pre-screening reception hosted by the Fulbright Association-Dallas Chapter at 6 pm. Special presentation by Imelda García (Journalist at The Dallas Morning News / Al Día)

Special Bonus Screening

Thursday, March 31, 6 pm, Meadows Museum Auditorium: Mondays in the Sun (Spanish).

Register

The festival is free but pre-registration is required and limited to members of the SMU community (students, staff, faculty). Unless otherwise noted, film screenings will take place at 7 pm in McCord Auditorium.

Register

The World Languages and Literatures International Film Festival is made possible thanks to the generous support of its 2022 sponsors: SMU Libraries, SMU Residence Life and Student Housing, MHPS Commons, Meadows Museum, Italian Club, French Club, Russian Club, German Club, Indian Student Association, LULAC-SMU, Julio Medina and Olga Guzmán (Agave Plumbing), Fulbright Association-Dallas Chapter, Goethe Center