Tate Lecture Program

group photo

The President's Scholars Program provides its students access to word famous leaders and scholars

The Willis M. Tate Distinguished Lecture Series annually brings six or more national and world leaders to SMU, and President’s Scholars enjoy opportunities to interact with them. Since its inception 36 years ago, the Tate Series has brought to campus 12 Pulitzer Prize winners, nine U.S. Senators, eight Nobel laureates, six U.S. Secretaries of State, three former U.S. Presidents, and two Supreme Court Justices, as well as prominent scientists, scholars, authors, and artists. The Series also provides funding for approximately 24 current President’s Scholars.