About the Library

The Larrie and Bobbi Weil Undergraduate Research Award

About the Award

Maria Katsulos
Maria Katsulos, 2021 recipient

The Larrie and Bobbi Weil Undergraduate Research Award for excellence in library research is awarded annually to recognize student research that demonstrates depth and breadth in the use of library research materials and clear evidence of thoughtful command of these resources.


  • Students must be registered for the semester in which the award is presented.
  • Any papers from a course, program or project from the Spring, Summer, or Fall semesters (calendar year) are eligible for the award.
  • Papers must be written in English and have one author.

Submitting Nominations

  • Only members of the faculty may submit papers.
  • Faculty members should notify students of their intent to nominate papers before submitting recommendations.
  • Make nominations via our online form.
  • Explain what makes the sources the student selected the best choices for this topic and how the student’s research choices reflect best practices for your discipline. The award committee will determine the winning paper using our Reviewer’s Guide. 
  • The submission deadline for the 2021 award was March 1. The deadline for 2022 will be announced at a later date.

Award Details

  • Student receives a $500 cash prize
  • An opportunity to be published in the SMU Journal of Undergraduate Research
  • Winning paper placed in the SMU Archives in DeGolyer Special Collections Library and online in SMU Scholar
  • Award presented at the Honors Convocation.

Please contact Elizabeth Killingsworth (elizabethk@smu.edu), Associate Dean of SMU Libraries and Director of Fondren Library, with any questions.


Current and Past Recipients

 Maria Katsulos


Maria Katsulos

Unto One Man’s Hand: The Power of Portraiture of the Favorites of James I

Nominated by Professor Kathleen Wellman, HIST 4300

 Madeline Dixon, 2020 Weil Award Recipient


Madeline Dixon

The Weimar Republic and the War of Memory

Nominated by Professor Erin Hochman, HIST 4300

 Amanda Oh


Amanda Oh
The Latitudinarian Influence on Early English Liberalism

Nominated by Professor Kathleen Wellman, HIST 4300

 Photo of Lauren King  


Lauren King
An Alternative View on the Roll-Brimmed Hat

Nominated by Dr. Stephanie Langin-Hooper, Assistant Professor and Karl Kilinski II Endowed Chair of Hellenic Visual Culture



Marisa Infante
The Amazons of Exekias and Eupolis: Demystifying Changes in Gender Roles

Nominated by Assistant Professor Dr. Stephanie Langin-Hooper, ARHS 4310

Lee Downen - 2016 Award Recepient


Lee Downen
Reading Chaucer with Charity: A Hermeneutical Proposal

Nominated by Professor Dr. Bonnie Wheeler, ENGL 4323



No recipient.
2014 winner


Kyle Lemons
The Shale Revolution and OPEC: Potential Economic Implications of Shale Oil for OPEC and Member Countries

2013 winner


Rachel Stonecipher
Reforming Relationships in the Late Italian Renaissance: The Protofeminism of Lucrezia Marinella and Isabella Andreini

2012 winner


Erin Hoya
Provocation, Premeditation, and Pandemonium: The Irish Rebellion of 1641

2011 winner


Rebecca C. Quinn
Santiago As Matamoros: Race, Class, And LIMPIEZA DE SANGRE In A Sixteenth-Century Spanish Manuscript

2010 winner


Amy Ward
The Celebration in 1964 Freedom Summer Art: The Role of Visual Rhetoric in Uncovering the Lost Voice

2009 winer


Ashley Bruckbauer
Flânerie and the Lesbian Gaze: Female Spectatorship in the Work of Toulouse-Lautrec