Bishop Harvey is Featured Speaker at Barton Lecture at Perkins School of Theology


DALLAS (SMU) – Registration is now open for the 2021 Roy D. Barton Lecture, which takes place Monday, September 20 at 6:30 p.m. at Perkins School of Theology, SMU.  The featured speaker, Bishop Cynthia Fierro Harvey, will share “Tales from the Edge of the Inside.”  The hybrid event offers the opportunity to attend virtually or in person at Prothro Hall on the campus of SMU in Dallas.  The program begins with a reception at 6:30 p.m., followed by the lecture at 7 p.m.

A Perkins graduate, Harvey has served as bishop of the Louisiana Annual Conference of The United Methodist Church since 2012.  The Louisiana Annual Conference is composed of 486 congregations and 118,725 members and includes the entire state of Louisiana.  She also currently serves as the President of the Council of Bishops, having served as the Secretary of the Council of Bishops 2014-2018. Harvey is also a member of the Perkins School of Theology Executive Board and the Board of Trustees for Centenary College. She is a board member of the United Methodist Foundation of Louisiana and past President of the Louisiana Interchurch Conference.

The Roy D. Barton Lectureship was established in 1995 to honor Dr. Barton for his distinguished service to the seminary and his equally distinguished service to the Hispanic United Methodist Church. Dr. Barton served as the founding Director of The Hispanic/Latin@ Ministries Program (then called the Mexican American Program) and Associate Professor of Practical Theology in Perkins School of Theology from 1974 until his retirement in 1995. The Barton Lecture aims to disseminate knowledge of Hispanic/Latin@ theology and ministry for the benefit of the academy, the church, and the wider public.

Through the lectures, participants have heard from the leading Hispanic/Latin@ scholars in theological education and church leaders who have made a significant impact on the Hispanic/Latin@ church and community. The lectureship has included the following among the many speakers: Dr. Justo L. González, Dr. Daisy L. Machado, Dr. Elizabeth Conde-Frazier, Bishop Ruben Saenz, Jr., Dr. Loida Martell, Dr. Hugo Magallanes, Dr. Fernando Segovia, and Dr. Harold J. Recinos.  

Registration deadline is September 13. For more information, visit