Perkins Invites Nominations for 2020 Distinguished Alumnus/a Award


DALLAS (SMU) – Perkins School of Theology at Southern Methodist University is accepting nominations for its 2020 Distinguished Alumnus/a Award. The deadline to submit is Wednesday, Sept. 30.


The award, presented annually, recognizes Perkins graduates who have demonstrated effectiveness and integrity in service to the church, continuing support for the goals of Perkins and SMU, distinguished service to the community, and exemplary character.


In past years, the award recipient was honored at a banquet during the Perkins Fall Convocation on the campus of SMU. However, due to the COVID-19 pandemic and restrictions relating to large in-person gatherings, the award event will not take place this November. Tentative plans are to recognize the 2020 recipient at a dual award banquet during the 2021 Fall Convocation at Perkins.


To nominate a Perkins graduate for the award, please submit:

  • A letter describing the nominee's career highlights and other accomplishments.
  • Letters or statements from at least two additional people who also support the nomination.

The person submitting the nomination should compile all materials and mail them together to:

Office of Public Affairs and Alumni/ae Relations

Perkins School of Theology

PO Box 750133

Dallas TX 75275-0133


Alternatively, nominations may be submitted via email. Attach the nominating letter and all supporting materials in a single email to:

The Rev. Connie L. Nelson

Executive Director, Office of Public Affairs and Alumni/ae Relations


The 2019 recipient was the Rev. Katherine Glaze Lyle (M.Div. ’93), a community leader and retired United Methodist pastor in the North Texas Conference. 

Follow this link for a list of all Perkins School of Theology Distinguished Alumnus/a Award Recipients.

Visit this link for more information about Distinguished Alumnus/a Award Criteria (PDF)