Women's and Gender Studies

Scholarships and Awards

The Betty Janette Maynard Scholarships and Awards

An award of up to $5000 per year, for up to two years, to acknowledge academic excellence. Criteria of eligibility:

  • A declared minor in WGS, or a WGS major via the Individualized Studies in the Liberal Arts.
  • Junior or senior standing for the period of the scholarship. (Students may apply in the spring of their sophomore years.)
  • A good academic record. (These are competitive.)
  • Students not eligible for financial aid are eligible for a Maynard Award ($1000-2000).

Apply in the spring to Ms. Kim Konkel, Director of Recruiting and Scholarships for Dedman College.

Maynard Scholars 2012-2013

Alex Day
Class of 2015
Amelia Johns
Whitney Harp
Class of 2014
Ruby Kim
Class of 2014

Melissa Maguire
Class of 2014




Sammi Partida
Class of 2014



 Erica Renstrom
Class of 2015

Ann Early Award 2014

    Alex Day  
 Class of 2015

WGS/Embrey Human Rights Intern at Resource Center Dallas 2012-2013

Anna Skrivanek

Learn more about past winners.

Learn more about Betty Maynard and Ann Early.