Embrey Human Rights Program


Mark your calendars!

The 2018 TRIUMPH OF THE SPIRIT AWARDS Celebration will be held on
Thursday, November 15th. Ticket sales will open in summer 2018.


Thoughtfully produced to entertain and inspire, the TRIUMPH OF THE SPIRIT AWARDS honor the accomplishment, commitment and innovation of human rights leaders – Dallas-based and global. Granted by the SMU Embrey Human Rights Program (EHRP), these awards are unique among institutions of higher education in the United States. Funding is provided by an anonymous donor, whose generosity challenges us all to participate in making the world a better place.

Held every other year, the TRIUMPH OF THE SPIRIT AWARDS bring together many facets of creative expression in a multimedia celebration of the human spirit. The immersive experience awakens hearts and minds to the potential of our individual and collective voices, connecting us all with our shared human capacity to speak out for justice and equality in the world around us.

In addition to media recognition and EHRP support, each Triumph of the Spirit Award recipient receives a cash prize. Individuals and organizations are eligible. For more information on the TRIUMPH OF THE SPIRIT AWARDS, contact Sherry Aikman at saikman@smu.edu.


Join us on November 15th to honor the following human rights champions:


2018 Global Awardees: 
"Nazi Hunters" Beate and Serge Klarsfeld

For more than five decades, this married couple has brought war criminals and to justice across the globe and helped restore the names and faces of victims. Click here to learn more.


2018 Local Awardees: The Docents of the Dallas Holocaust Museum

This elite team of North Texas educators is dedicated to teaching the history of the Holocaust and advancing human rights to combat prejudice, hatred and indifference. Click here to learn more.


Relive the excitement and hope of the 2016 TRIUMPH OF THE SPIRIT AWARDS!






Previous Awardees


GEORGES BWELLE (Founder and President of ASCOVIME), a Cameroonian physician who goes the distance to offer free healthcare and education to impoverished peoples.


CAROL BRADY HOUSTON (Director of Friday NITE Friends), a compassionate Plano-based supporter of special needs children and their families.



ELIANA ELIAS VALDEAVILLANO (Co-Founder and Executive Director of Minga Peru), a South American champion of Indigenous women's rights and creator of the FICE strategic communications training program.


BHAVANI PARPIA (Founder and President of ConnecTeach), a justice-minded education expert who connects teachers and students across the globe through a focus on gender equality.


To receive email updates about the Triumph of the Spirit Awards, sign up here:

* indicates required