SMU Facts

SMU Facts

SMU Facts

A nationally ranked private university with seven degree-granting schools (in the humanities and sciences; business; the performing, visual, and communication arts; engineering; education and human development; law; and theology), SMU is a distinguished center for teaching and research located in the heart of Dallas. SMU’s 11,000 students benefit from small classes, leadership opportunities, international study and innovative programs.

  • Students come from all 50 states, the District of Columbia, and approximately 90 foreign countries, and represent diverse economic, ethnic, and religious backgrounds.

  • SMU itself is a gateway to the global community, offering access to nearly 150 education abroad programs in 50 countries as well as a unique campus in Northern New Mexico on the site of a historic fort and 13th-century Indian pueblo.

  • SMU's Cox School of Business and Meadows School of the Arts are listed in Parade Magazine's 2010 College A-List.

  • The University's 10 libraries house the largest private collection of research materials in the Southwest.

  • The internationally acclaimed Meadows Museum houses one of the finest collections of Spanish art outside of Spain.

  • As part of SMU's focus on leadership, the Tate Distinguished Lecture Series and Hart Global Leaders Forum bring national and world leaders to campus for lectures and interaction with students.

  • SMU is one of the few universities to have a voting student member of its Board of Trustees. Nearly 200 campus organizations provide other opportunities for involvement.

  • Founded in 1911 by what is now The United Methodist Church, SMU opened in 1915 with support from Dallas leaders. The University is nonsectarian in its teaching and committed to freedom of inquiry.