Start a Movement

Twtr Fb Yt Li Pi

Meadows Prize

Current recipients

Jawole Willa Jo Zollar: Zollar founded Urban Bush Women in 1984 as a performance ensemble dedicated to exploring the use of cultural expression as a catalyst for social change. Under Zollar’s leadership, UBW has toured five continents and has performed at venues including Brooklyn Academy of Music, Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts and the Kennedy Center. Over the course of her career, Zollar has developed a unique approach to choreography that empowers artists to strengthen their involvement in cultural organizing and civic engagement – an approach that has evolved into UBW’s acclaimed Summer Leadership Institute. In addition to 34 works for UBW, Zollar has choreographed works for Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater, Philadanco, University of Maryland and Virginia Commonwealth University, among others.

2013 Meadows Prize Winners

Meadows Prize Preview

Q&A: Tania Bruguera with Roberto Tejada

Inaugurated in October 2009, the Meadows Prize is presented each fall to up to two pioneering artists. It includes support for a four-to-eight-week residency in Dallas, in addition to a $25,000 stipend. In return, recipients are expected to interact in a substantive way with Meadows students and collaborating arts organizations, and to leave a lasting legacy in Dallas, such as a work of art that remains in the community, a composition or piece of dramatic writing that would be performed locally, or a new way of teaching in a particular discipline.

The Meadows Prize replaced the Meadows Award, which was given annually from 1981 to 2003 to honor the accomplishments of an artist at the pinnacle of a distinguished career. Meadows Prize recipients must be pioneering artists and scholars with an emerging international profile, active in a discipline represented by one of the academic units within the Meadows School: advertising, art, art history, arts administration, cinema-television, corporate communications, dance, journalism, music and theatre.

The Meadows Prize is sponsored by the Meadows School and The Meadows Foundation.

Start a Movement

Meadows Prize

Jawole Willa Jo Zollar

Nadia Sirota

Tania Bruguera

Enda Walsh

Michael Keegan-Dolan

Will Power

Shen Wei

Creative Time

eighth blackbird

Arts Entrepreneurship

International Opportunities

Interdisciplinary Studies

Research and Creativity