Give Now


Schedule of Events

Honorary Degree Symposia

A public symposium, “Creating Impact in Global Health,” from 2:30 – 3:30 pm on Wednesday, 11 May 2016, will be presented by Dr. Groesbeck Parham, the recipient of SMU’s 2016 honorary doctoral degree. The event, co-sponsored by the World Affairs Council of Dallas/Fort Worth, begins with a 2:00 p.m. reception in Harold Clark Simmons Hall, 6401 Airline Rd.

If you would like to attend the symposium, please RSVP to by Monday, May 9.

In 2006, Dr. Groesbeck Parham, a professor of obstetrics and gynecology at UNC Chapel Hill based in Lusaka, Zambia, began working in Zambia, a country with the world's second highest rate of cervical cancer deaths.  Dr. Parham helped bring Zambian women a fast, affordable screening method for cervical cancer that used simple household vinegar. Trained nurses perform the screening procedure in clinics throughout the country. To date, more than 350,000 Zambian women have been screened. The simple screening is now used in countries throughout Africa and Asia.

To call attention to, and expand, the efforts of women's health, the George W. Bush Institute created Pink Ribbon Red Ribbon, a public-private partnership designed to combat cervical and breast cancer in Africa and Latin America. The program was launched in 2011 at one of Parham's Zambia clinics.  Pink Ribbon Red Ribbon is now serving in Zambia, Botswana, Namibia, Ethiopia and Tanzania and serves as a focus for SMU's Center for Global Health Impact.

Baccalaureate Service  (undergraduate candidates only)

  Friday, May 13

Assembly of Candidates for Baccalaureate (Undergraduate Students Only)

Location: Historic Main Quadrangle in front of Dallas Hall
Time: 7:20 PM

Carillon Concert

Location: Fondren Science Bell Tower
Time: 7:15 PM

Baccalaureate Service (Undergraduate Students Only)

Location: McFarlin Auditorium
Time: 8:00 PM

  • Live simulcast held in the Hughes-Trigg Student Center Theatre.
  • Students may request two guest passes. Doors to McFarlin open at 6:45 p.m. and guests with passes must be in their seats by 7:45 p.m.
  • Any remaining passes are distributed at 6:30 p.m. on the steps of McFarlin.
  • Rotunda Recessional follows the Baccalaureate Service.

Rotunda Recessional (Undergraduate Students Only)

Location: Historic Main Quadrangle and Dallas Hall Rotunda
Time: 9:00 PM (approximately)

All-University Commencement Convocation

  Saturday, May 14

Assembly of Candidates for Procession (Candidates Only)

Location: Crum Basketball Center and Dedman Center for Lifetime Sports
Time: 7:00 AM

  • SMU custom regalia required.

All-University Commencement Convocation

Location: Moody Coliseum
Time: 9:00 AM

All-University Commencement Convocation Simulcast Locations

Locations: Crum Auditorium, Bolin Plaza, Dedman Center and McFarlin Auditorium

Time: 9:00 AM

Commencement Luncheon

The Commencement Buffet Luncheon is Saturday, May 14th during Commencement Weekend from 10:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. at Arnold Dining Commons, located within walking distance of Moody Coliseum. SMU graduates eat free with the purchase of a guest meal.

Pre-paid reservations are highly recommended and can be made by calling the SMU Dining Services Office at 214-768-2491. If you have any questions regarding the luncheon, please email

Diploma Presentation Ceremonies

Friday, May 13

The Guildhall at SMU, Hart eCenter

Time: 6:00 PM
Location: SMU in Plano, Building 3
Reception: SMU in Plano, Building 3, immediately following ceremony
Contact: Meredith Turner (972-473-3521,

Annette Caldwell Simmons School of Education & Human Development

Time: 3:00 PM
Location: McFarlin Auditorium
Reception: Harold Clark Simmons Hall Atrium, immediately following ceremony
Contact: Lisa Bell (214-768-4242,


Saturday, May 14

Cox School of Business - Undergraduate

Time: 1:30 PM
Location: Moody Coliseum
Reception: Cox School of Business Courtyard, immediately following ceremony
Contact: Dee Powell (214-768-3012,

Cox School of Business - Graduate

Time: 3:30 PM 
Location: Moody Coliseum
Reception: Collins Center, immediately following ceremony
Contact: Dee Powell (214-768-3012,

Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences

Reception: Dallas Hall Rotunda, 12:30 - 4:30 p.m.

** Please check with your department; some ceremonies are ticketed events.

Time: 3:30 PM
Location: Martha Proctor Mack Grand Ballroom, Umphrey Lee Center
Contact: Tiffany Powell (214-768-2684,

Bio-Chemistry and Chemistry
Time: 2:00 PM
Location: Martha Proctor Mack Grand Ballroom, Umphrey Lee Center
Contact: Bobby Williams (214-768-2611,

Biological Sciences
Time: 3:30 PM
Location: Hughes-Trigg Theatre
Contact: Mary Varela (214-768-2217,

Earth Sciences
Time: 12:30 PM
Location: McCord Auditorium, Dallas Hall
Contact: Stephanie Schwob (214-768-2770,

Time: 4:00 PM
Location: McFarlin Auditorium
Contact: Stephanie Hall (214-768-2694, & Anna Hamilton (214-768-2704,

Time: 12:30 PM
Location: Martha Proctor Mack Grand Ballroom, Umphrey Lee Center
Contact: Mary Felipe (214-768-2946,

Time: 1:30 PM
Location: Hughes-Trigg Theatre
Contact: Sharron Pierson (214-768-2984,

Human Rights
Time:  12:00 PM
Location: O'Donnell Auditorium, Owen Arts Center
Reception: Taubman Atrium, immediately following ceremony
Contact: Sherry Aikman (214-768-8347,

Mathematics, Physics and Statistical Science
Time: 12:30 PM
Location: Hughes-Trigg Theatre
Contact: Mathematics Undergraduate - Scott Norris (214-768-4802,
Mathematics Graduate - Johannes Tausch (214-768-2515,
Physics - Roberto Vega (214-768-2498,
Statistical Science - Sheila Crain (214-768-1426,

Time: 3:30 PM
Location: McCord Auditorium, Dallas Hall
Contact: Charee Stewart (214-768-2118,

Political Science, International Studies, Latin American Studies, and Public Policy
Time: 12:30 PM
Location: Caruth Auditorium, Owen Arts Center
Contact: Political Science - Melissa Emmert (214-768-4171,
International Studies/Latin American Studies - Ray Rafidi (214-768-3665,
Public Policy - Christine Carberry (214-768-2526,
• This event requires tickets.

Time: 3:00 PM
Location: Hughes-Trigg Ballroom
Contact: Marye Lou Camp (214-768-4924,
• This event requires tickets.

Religious Studies
Time: 2:00 PM
Location: McCord Auditorium, Dallas Hall
Contact: Karen Delk (214-768-2095,

Sociology and Markets and Culture
Time: 1:00 PM
Location: Hughes-Trigg Ballroom
Contact: Karen Delk (214-768-4011,
• This event requires tickets.

World Languages
Time: 3:00 PM
Location: Caruth Auditorium, Owen Arts Center
Contact: Rosemary Sanchez (214-768-1405,

Dedman School of Law Hooding Ceremony

Time: 6:30 PM
Location: Law School Quadrangle
Reception: Karcher Auditorium located in Storey Hall, immediately following ceremony
Contact: Bobbye Heine (214-768-2108,  

Lyle School of Engineering

Time: 5:30 PM
Location: Moody Coliseum
Reception: Precedes the diploma ceremony, 3:00 p.m., Hillcrest Foundation Amphitheater and Mabee Foundation Foyer, Caruth Hall, lower level
Graduate Contact: Jim Dees (214-768-1456,
Undergraduate Contact: Afsana Qurishi (214-768-1457,

Meadows School of the Arts

Time: 6:30 PM
Location: Owen Arts Center (Outdoors)
Reception: Preceding the Meadows Ceremony at 4 pm at the Greer Garson Theatre
Contact: Meadows Operations and Events Office at 214-768-2713 or 214-768-4211 (
• For questions regarding degree candidacy, eligibility to participate in the ceremonies, etc., contact Jennifer R. Smith at 214-768-2754.

Perkins School of Theology

A Celebration of Degrees and Academic Achievements
Time: 2:00 PM
Location: Highland Park United Methodist Church, Sanctuary
Reception: Great Hall, Elizabeth Perkins Prothro Hall, immediately following ceremony
Contact: Joe Monroy (214-768-2152,