Give Now

Events

Schedule of Events

Honorary Degree Symposia

Honorary Degree recipients and symposia information will be posted later in the spring semester.

Baccalaureate Service  (undergraduate candidates only)

  Friday, May 15

Evening Bells

Location: Fondren Science Bell Tower
Time: 7:30 PM

Assembly of Candidates for Baccalaureate (Undergraduate Students Only)

Location: Historic Main Quadrangle in front of Dallas Hall
Time: 7:30 PM

Baccalaureate Service (Undergraduate Students Only)

Location: McFarlin Auditorium
Time: 8:00 PM

Live simulcast held in Theater, Hughes-Trigg Student Center. Students are entitled to two guest tickets. Service followed by Rotunda Recessional.

Rotunda Recessional (Undergraduate Students Only)

Location: Historic Main Quadrangle and Dallas Hall Rotunda
Time: 9:00 PM (approximately)

All-University Commencement Convocation

  Saturday, May 16

Assembly of Candidates for Procession (Candidates Only)

Location: Dedman Center for Lifetime Sports
Time: 7:30 AM

SMU custom regalia required.

All-University Commencement Convocation

Location: Moody Coliseum
Time: 9:00 AM

All-University Commencement Convocation Simulcast Locations

Locations: Crum Auditorium (located on the first floor of the Collins Executive Building) and Mustang Plaza

Time: 9:00 AM

Commencement Luncheon

  Saturday, May 16

Location: Arnold Dining Commons
Time: 10:30 AM - 1:30 PM

Reservations are highly recommended and will be made available in April. More information and updates can be found at SMU Dining.  If you have any questions regarding the luncheon, please e-mail dining@smu.edu  

Diploma Presentation Ceremonies

Friday, May 15

The Guildhall at SMU, Hart eCenter

Time: 6:00 PM
Location: SMU in Plano, Building 3
Reception: SMU in Plano, Building 3, immediately following the ceremony
Contact: Meredith Turner (972-473-3521, mereditht@smu.edu)

Annette Caldwell Simmons School of Education & Human Development

Time: 3:00 PM
Location: McFarlin Auditorium
Reception: Annette Caldwell Simmons Hall Atrium, immediately following the ceremony
Contact: Lisa Bell (214-768-4242, lcbell@smu.edu)

 

Saturday, May 16

 

Bobby B. Lyle School of Engineering

Time: 1:30 PM
Location: McFarlin Memorial Auditorium
Reception: Caruth Hall, Lower Level, immediately following ceremony
Contacts: Graduate - Jim Dees (214-768-1456, jdees@smu.edu)
Undergraduate - Jennylind Doyle (214-768-1457, jdoyle@smu.edu)
(This event may require tickets.)

Cox School of Business - Undergraduate

Time: 1:30 PM
Location: Moody Coliseum
Reception: Cox School of Business Courtyard, immediately following ceremony
Contact: Dee Powell (214-768-3012, dpowell@smu.edu)

Cox School of Business - Graduate

Time: 3:30 PM
Location: Moody Coliseum
Reception: Collins Center, immediately following ceremony
Contact: Dee Powell (214-768-3012, dpowell@smu.edu)

Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences

** Please check with your department; some ceremonies are ticketed events.

Anthropology
Time: 3:30 PM
Location: Martha Proctor Mack Grand Ballroom, Umphrey Lee Center
Contact: Undergraduate - Tiffany Powell (214-768-2684, tapowell@smu.edu)
Graduate - Pamela Hogan (214-768-4152, phogan@smu.edu)

Bio-Chemistry and Chemistry
Time: 2:00 PM
Location: Martha Proctor Mack Grand Ballroom, Umphrey Lee Center
Contact: Laurieann Ram-Kern (214-768-2611, laurieann@smu.edu)

Biological Sciences
Time: 3:30 PM
Location: Hughes-Trigg Theatre
Contact: Kim Orcutt (214-768-2730, korcutt@smu.edu)

Earth Sciences
Time: 12:30 p.m.
Location: McCord Auditorium, Dallas Hall
Contact: Stephanie Schwob (214-768-2770, sschwob@smu.edu)

Economics
Time: 4:00 p.m.
Location: McFarlin Auditorium
Contact: Stephanie Hall (214-768-2694, stephanie@smu.edu)

English
Time: 12:30 PM
Location: Martha Proctor Mack Grand Ballroom, Umphrey Lee Center
Contact: Leslie Reid (214-768-2946, lereid@smu.edu)

History
Time: 1:30 PM
Location: Hughes-Trigg Theatre
Contact: Mildred Pinkston (214-768-2967, mpinksto@smu.edu)

Human Rights and Ethnic Studies
Time:  2:00 pm
Location: Owen Arts Center, O'Donnell Hall
Contact: Sherry Aikman (214-768-8347, saikman@smu.edu)

Mathematics, Physics and Statistical Science
Time: 12:30 p.m.
Location: Hughes-Trigg Theatre
Contact: Mathematics Undergraduate - Teresa Janicki (214-768-2506, tjanicki@smu.edu)
Mathematics Graduate - Liz Berry (214-768-2506, lberry@smu.edu)
Physics - Roberto Vega (214-768-2498, rvega@smu.edu)
Statistical Science - Sheila Crain (214-768-1426, scrain@smu.edu)

Philosophy
Time: 3:30 PM
Location: McCord Auditorium, Dallas Hall
Contact: Charee Stewart (214-768-2118, charees@smu.edu)

Political Science, International Studies, Latin American Studies, and Public Policy
Time: 12:30 PM
Location: Caruth Auditorium, Owen Arts Center
Contact: Political Science - Melissa Emmert (214-768-4171, memmert@smu.edu)
Political Science - Jimmeca Dorsey (214-768-2524, jdorsey@smu.edu)
International Studies/Latin American Studies - Ray Rafidi (214-768-3665, rrafidi@smu.edu)
Public Policy - Christine Carberry (214-768-2526, carberry@smu.edu)
This event requires tickets.

Psychology
Time: 3:00 p.m.
Location: Hughes-Trigg Ballroom
Contact: Mary Westfall (214-768-2438, westfall@smu.edu)
This event requires tickets.
Religious Studies
Time: 2:00 PM
Location: McCord Auditorium, Dallas Hall
Contact: Richard Cogley (214-768-2099, rcogley@smu.edu)

Sociology and Markets and Culture
Time: 1:00 p.m.
Location: Hughes-Trigg Ballroom
Contact: Karen Delk (214-768-4011, kdelk@smu.edu)
This event requires tickets.

World Languages and Literature
Time: 3:00 p.m.
Location: Caruth Auditorium, Owen Arts Center
Contact: Debbie Garland (214-768-1406, dgarland@smu.edu)

Dedman School of Law Hooding Ceremony

Time: TBA
Location: TBA
Reception: TBA
Contact: Bobbye Heine (214-768-2108, bheine@smu.edu)  

Meadows School of the Arts

Time: 6:30 p.m.
Location: Owen Arts Center (Outdoors)
Reception: Reception precedes ceremony at 4 pm. at the Greer Garson Theatre
Contact: Meadows Facilities and Events Office at 214-768-2713 or 214-768-4211 (http://www.smu.edu/Meadows/NewsAndEvents/Graduation)
For questions regarding degree candidacy, eligibility to participate in the ceremonies, etc., contact Jennifer R. Smith at 214-768-2754.

Perkins School of Theology

A Celebration of Degrees and Academic Achievements
Time: 2:00 p.m.
Location: Highland Park United Methodist Church, Sanctuary
Reception: Great Hall, Elizabeth Perkins Prothro Hall, immediately following ceremony
Contact: Joe Monroy (214-768-2152, jmonroy@smu.edu)