Events

Schedule of Events

Honorary Degree Symposium

Honorary Degree recipients and symposium information can be found here.

Baccalaureate Service

  Friday, May 16

Evening Bells

Location: Fondren Science Bell Tower
Time: 7:30 PM

Assembly of Candidates for Baccalaureate (Undergraduate Students Only)

Location: Historic Main Quadrangle in front of Dallas Hall
Time: 7:30 PM

Baccalaureate Service (Undergraduate Students Only)

Location: McFarlin Auditorium
Time: 8:00 PM

Live simulcast held in Theater, Hughes-Trigg Student Center. Students are entitled to two guest tickets. Service followed by Rotunda Recessional.

Rotunda Recessional (Undergraduate Students Only)

Location: Historic Main Quadrangle and Dallas Hall Rotunda
Time: 9:00 PM (approximately)

All-University Commencement Convocation

  Saturday, May 17

Assembly of Candidates for Procession (Candidates Only)

Location: Dedman Center for Lifetime Sports
Time: 7:30 AM

SMU custom regalia required.

All-University Commencement Convocation

Location: Moody Coliseum
Time: 9:00 AM

 Live simulcast locations on campus to be announced. 

 

Commencement Luncheon

  Saturday, May 17

Location: Umphrey Lee Center
Time: 10:30 AM - 1:30 PM

Reservations are highly recommended and may be made beginning March 17 through May 12. Please call 214-768-2322 for more information, or visit smudining.com.

Diploma Presentation Ceremonies

 

Friday, May 16



The Guildhall at SMU, Hart eCenter

Time: 6:00 PM
Location: SMU in Plano, Building 3
Reception: SMU in Plano, Building 3, immediately following the ceremony
Contact: Diane Urquhart (214-768-4278, diane@smu.edu)

Annette Caldwell Simmons School of Education & Human Development

Time: 3:00 PM
Location: McFarlin Auditorium
Reception: Annette Caldwell Simmons Hall Atrium, Saturday, May 17 at 11:30 AM
Contact: Lisa Bell (214-768-4242, lcbell@smu.edu)

 

Saturday, May 17

 

Bobby B. Lyle School of Engineering

Time: 1:30 PM
Location: McFarlin Memorial Auditorium
Reception: Caruth Hall, Lower Level, immediately following ceremony
Contacts:Graduate - Jim Dees (214-768-1456, jdees@smu.edu)
Undergraduate - Jennylind Doyle (214-768-1457, jdoyle@smu.edu)

Cox School of Business - Undergraduate

Time: 1:30 PM
Location: Moody Coliseum
Reception: Cox School of Business Courtyard, immediately following ceremony
Contact: Dee Powell (214-768-3012, dpowell@smu.edu)

Cox School of Business - Graduate

Time: 3:30 PM
Location: Moody Coliseum
Reception: Collins Center, immediately following ceremony
Contact: Dee Powell (214-768-3012, dpowell@smu.edu)

Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences

Please check with your department; some ceremonies are ticketed events.

 

Anthropology
Time: 3:30 PM
Location: Martha Proctor Mack Grand Ballroom, Umphrey Lee Center
Contact: Undergraduate - Tiffany Powell (214-768-2684, tapowell@smu.edu)
Graduate - Pamela Hogan (214-768-4152, phogan@smu.edu)

Bio-Chemistry and Chemistry
Time: 2:00 PM
Location: Martha Proctor Mack Grand Ballroom, Umphrey Lee Center
Contact: Laurieann Ram-Kern (214-768-2611, laurieann@smu.edu)

Biological Sciences
Time: 3:30 PM
Location: Hughes-Trigg Theatre
Contact: Kim Orcutt (214-768-2730, korcutt@smu.edu)

Earth Sciences
Time: 12:30 p.m.
Location: McCord Auditorium, Dallas Hall
Contact: Stephanie Schwob (214-768-2770, sschwob@smu.edu)

Economics
Time: 4:00 p.m.
Location: McFarlin Auditorium
Contact: Stephanie Hall (214-768-2694, stephanie@smu.edu)

English
Time: 12:30 PM
Location: Martha Proctor Mack Grand Ballroom, Umphrey Lee Center
Contact: Leslie Reid (214-768-2946, lereid@smu.edu)

History, Human Rights and Ethnic Studies
Time: 1:30 PM
Location: Hughes-Trigg Theatre
Contact: Mildred Pinkston (214-768-2967, mpinksto@smu.edu)

Mathematics, Physics and Statistical Science
Time: 12:30 p.m.
Location: Hughes-Trigg Theatre
Contact: Mathematics Undergraduate - Teresa Janicki (214-768-2506, tjanicki@smu.edu)
Mathematics Graduate - Liz Berry (214-768-2506, lberry@smu.edu)
Physics - Roberto Vega (214-768-2498, rvega@smu.edu)
Statistical Science - Sheila Crain (214-768-1426, scrain@smu.edu)

Philosophy
Time: 3:30 PM
Location: McCord Auditorium, Dallas Hall
Contact: Charee Stewart (214-768-2118, charees@smu.edu)

Political Science, International Studies, Latin American Studies, and Public Policy
Time: 12:30 PM
Location: Caruth Auditorium, Owen Arts Center
Contact: Political Science - Melissa Emmert (214-768-4171, memmert@smu.edu)
Political Science - Jimmeca Dorsey (214-768-2524, jdorsey@smu.edu)
International Studies/Latin American Studies - Ray Rafidi (214-768-3665, rrafidi@smu.edu)
Public Policy - Christine Carberry (214-768-2526, carberry@smu.edu)
This event requires tickets.
Psychology
Time: 3:00 p.m.
Location: Hughes-Trigg Ballroom
Contact: Ann Conner (214-768-4924, aconner@smu.edu)
This event requires tickets.
Religious Studies
Time: 2:00 PM
Location: McCord Auditorium, Dallas Hall
Contact: Richard Cogley (214-768-2099, rcogley@smu.edu)

Sociology and Markets and Culture
Time: 1:00 p.m.
Location: Hughes-Trigg Ballroom
Contact: Karen Delk (214-768-4011, kdelk@smu.edu)
This event requires tickets.

World Languages and Literature
Time: 3:00 p.m.
Location: Caruth Auditorium, Owen Arts Center
Contact: Debbie Garland (214-768-1406, dgarland@smu.edu)

Dedman School of Law Hooding Ceremony

Time: 6:30 PM
Location: Law School Quadrangle
Reception: Karcher Auditorium located in Storey Hall, immediately following ceremony
Contact: Bobbye Heine (214-768-2108, bheine@smu.edu)

Meadows School of the Arts

Time: 6:30 p.m.
Location: Owen Arts Center - Outside
Reception: Greer Garson Theatre, 4:00 p.m.
Contact: Meadows Facilities and Events Office at 214-768-2713 or 214-768-4211 (http://www.smu.edu/Meadows/NewsAndEvents/Graduation)
For questions regarding degree candidacy, eligibility to participate in the ceremonies, etc., contact Jennifer R. Smith at 214-768-2754.

Perkins School of Theology

A Celebration of Degrees and Academic Achievements
Time: 2:00 p.m.
Location: Highland Park United Methodist Church, Sanctuary
Reception: Great Hall, Elizabeth Perkins Prothro Hall, immediately following ceremony
Contact: Janelle Hampton (214-768-2152, jhampton@smu.edu)