Give Now

Events

Schedule of Events

Honorary Degree Symposia

TBA

Baccalaureate Service  (undergraduate candidates only)

  Friday, May 19

Assembly of Candidates for Baccalaureate (Undergraduate Students Only)

Location: Historic Main Quadrangle in front of Dallas Hall
Time: 7:20 p.m.

Carillon Concert

Location: Fondren Science Bell Tower
Time: 7:15 p.m.

Baccalaureate Service (Undergraduate Students Only)

Location: McFarlin Auditorium
Time: 8:00 p.m.

  • Live simulcast held in the Hughes-Trigg Student Center Theatre.
  • Students may request two guest passes. Doors to McFarlin open at 6:45 p.m. and guests with passes must be in their seats by 7:45 p.m.
  • Any remaining passes are distributed at 6:30 p.m. on the steps of McFarlin.
  • Rotunda Recessional follows the Baccalaureate Service.

Rotunda Recessional (Undergraduate Students Only)

Location: Historic Main Quadrangle and Dallas Hall Rotunda
Time: 9:00 p.m. (approximately)

All-University Commencement Convocation

  Saturday, May 20

Assembly of Candidates for Procession (Candidates Only)

Location: Crum Basketball Center and Dedman Center for Lifetime Sports
Time: 7:30 a.m.

  • SMU custom regalia required.

All-University Commencement Convocation

Location: Moody Coliseum
Time: 9:00 a.m.

All-University Commencement Convocation Simulcast Locations

Locations: Crum Auditorium and Bolin Plaza

Time: 9:00 a.m.

Commencement Luncheon

The Commencement Buffet Luncheon is Saturday, May 20 during Commencement Weekend from 10:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m. at Arnold Dining Commons, located within walking distance of Moody Coliseum. 

Pre-paid reservations are highly recommended and can be made by calling the SMU Dining Services Office at 214-768-2368.

Diploma Presentation Ceremonies and Receptions

Friday, May 19

The Guildhall at SMU, Hart eCenter

Time: 6:00 p.m.
Location: SMU in Plano, Building 3
Reception: SMU in Plano, Building 3, immediately following ceremony
Contact: Vanessa P. Duran (972-473-3521, vduran@smu.edu)

Annette Caldwell Simmons School of Education & Human Development

PhD, Masters of Education, Masters of Bilingual Education, and UG Education Studies 

Time: 11:30 a.m.
Location: McFarlin Auditorium
Reception: Harold Clark Simmons Hall Atrium, immediately following ceremony 
Contact: Lisa Bell (214-768-4242, lcbell@smu.edu)

Counseling, Dispute Resolution, Master of Liberal Studies, GR&UG Sport Management

Time: 3:30 p.m.
Location: McFarlin Auditorium
Reception: Annette Caldwell Simmons Hall Atrium, immediately following ceremony
Contact: Lisa Bell (214-768-4242, lcbell@smu.edu)

 

Saturday, May 20

Master of Science in Data Science

Reception: Immediately following All-University Commencement
Location: TBD
Contact:  Jennifer Buenrostro (214-768-1104, jbuenros@smu.edu)

Cox School of Business - Undergraduate

Time: 1:30 p.m.
Location: Moody Coliseum
Reception: Collins Center, immediately following ceremony
Contact: Dee Powell (214-768-3012, dpowell@smu.edu)

Cox School of Business - Graduate

Time: 3:30 p.m.
Location: Moody Coliseum
Reception: Collins Center, immediately following ceremony
Contact: Dee Powell (214-768-3012, dpowell@smu.edu)

Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences

Reception: Dallas Hall Rotunda, 12:30 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.

** Please check with your department; some ceremonies are ticketed events.

Anthropology
Time: 3:30 p.m.
Location: Martha Proctor Mack Grand Ballroom, Umphrey Lee Center
Contact: Tiffany Powell (214-768-2684, tapowell@smu.edu)

Bio-Chemistry and Chemistry
Time: 2:00 p.m.
Location: Martha Proctor Mack Grand Ballroom, Umphrey Lee Center
Contact: Bobby Williams (214-768-2611, bobbyw@smu.edu)

Biological Sciences
Time: 3:30 p.m.
Location: Hughes-Trigg Theatre
Contact: Mary Varela (214-768-2217, mvarela@smu.edu)

Earth Sciences
Time: 12:30 p.m.
Location: McCord Auditorium, Dallas Hall
Contact: Stephanie Schwob (214-768-2770, sschwob@smu.edu)

Economics
Time: 4:00 p.m.
Location: McFarlin Auditorium
Contact: Stephanie Hall (214-768-2694, stephanie@smu.edu) & Anna Hamilton (214-768-2704, alhamilton@smu.edu)

English
Time: 12:30 p.m.
Location: Martha Proctor Mack Grand Ballroom, Umphrey Lee Center
Contact: Mary Felipe (214-768-2946, mfelipe@smu.edu)

History
Time: 1:30 p.m.
Location: Hughes-Trigg Theatre
Contact: Sharron Pierson (214-768-2984, sharon@smu.edu)

Human Rights
Time:  12:00 p.m.
Location: Bob Hope Theatre, Owen Arts Center
Reception: Taubman Atrium, immediately following ceremony
Contact: Sherry Aikman (214-768-8347, saikman@smu.edu)

Mathematics, Physics and Statistical Science
Time: 12:30 p.m.
Location: Hughes-Trigg Theatre
Contact: Mathematics Undergraduate - Scott Norris (214-768-4802, snorris@smu.edu)
Mathematics Graduate - Johannes Tausch (214-768-2515, tausch@smu.edu)
Physics - Roberto Vega (214-768-2498, rvega@smu.edu)
Statistical Science - Sheila Crain (214-768-1426, scrain@smu.edu)

Medieval Studies
Time: 4:00 p.m.
Location: Bridwell Library, The Blue Room
Contact: Bonnie Wheeler (214-768-2949, bwheeler@mail.smu.edu

Philosophy
Time: 3:30 p.m.
Location: McCord Auditorium, Dallas Hall
Contact: Charee Stewart (214-768-2118, charees@smu.edu)

Political Science, International Studies, Latin American Studies, and Public Policy
Time: 12:30 p.m.
Location: Caruth Auditorium, Owen Arts Center
Contact: Political Science - Melissa Emmert (214-768-4171, memmert@smu.edu)
International Studies/Latin American Studies - Ray Rafidi (214-768-3665, rrafidi@smu.edu)
Public Policy - Christine Carberry (214-768-2526, carberry@smu.edu)
• This event requires tickets.

Psychology
Time: 3:00 p.m.
Location: Hughes-Trigg Ballroom
Contact: Krista Pruitt (214-768-2938, knpruitt@smu.edu)
• This event requires tickets.

Religious Studies
Time: 2:00 p.m.
Location: McCord Auditorium, Dallas Hall
Contact: Karen Delk (214-768-2095, kdelk@mail.smu.edu)

Sociology and Markets and Culture
Time: 1:00 p.m.
Location: Hughes-Trigg Ballroom
Contact: Karen Delk (214-768-4011, kdelk@smu.edu)
• This event requires tickets.

World Languages
Time: 3:00 p.m.
Location: Caruth Auditorium, Owen Arts Center
Contact: Teresa Janicki (214-768-1405, tjanicki@smu.edu)

Dedman School of Law Hooding Ceremony

Time: 6:30 p.m.
Location: Law School Quadrangle
Reception: Karcher Auditorium located in Storey Hall, immediately following ceremony
Contact: Bobbye Heine (214-768-2108, bheine@smu.edu)  

Lyle School of Engineering

Time: 5:30 p.m.
Location: Moody Coliseum
Reception: Precedes the diploma ceremony, 3:00 p.m., Hillcrest Foundation Amphitheater and Mabee Foundation Foyer, Caruth Hall, lower level
Graduate Contact: Jim Dees (214-768-1456, jdees@smu.edu)
Undergraduate Contact: Afsana Qurishi (214-768-1457, aqurishi@smu.edu

Meadows School of the Arts

Time: 6:30 p.m.
Location: Owen Arts Center - Outdoors 
Reception: Preceding the Meadows Ceremony at 4 p.m. at the Greer Garson Theatre
Contact: Meadows Operations and Events Office at 214-768-2713 or 214-768-4211 (smu.edu/Meadows/NewsAndEvents/Graduation)
• For questions regarding degree candidacy, eligibility to participate in the ceremonies, etc., contact Jennifer R. Smith at 214-768-2754.

Perkins School of Theology

A Celebration of Degrees and Academic Achievements
Time: 2:00 p.m.
Location: Highland Park United Methodist Church, Sanctuary
Reception: Great Hall, Elizabeth Perkins Prothro Hall, immediately following ceremony
Contact: Joe Monroy (214-768-2152, jmonroy@smu.edu)