This calendar includes an addendum listing religious holidays for use in requesting excused absences according to University Policy 1.9. For religious holidays not listed, contact the Office of the Chaplain.

Graduate programs in the Cox School of Business, Perkins School of Theology and Dedman School of Law, and the Department of Dispute Resolution and Counseling within the Simmons School of Education and Human Development have different calendars.

Fall Term

  • April 7-25, Monday-Friday: Enrollment for fall 2014 continuing students for all undergraduates and for graduates in Dedman College, Lyle and Meadows.
  • May, July, August -TBA: Academic Advising, Enrollment and Orientation (AARO) conferences for new first-year and transfer undergraduate students. Conference dates to be announced. Additional information about AARO is available from New Student Programs, Student Life Office, 214-768-4560,www.smu.edu/newstudent.
  • August 20, Wednesday: Residence halls officially open for students attending Mustang Corral. 
  • August 22, Friday: Residence halls officially open for all other students.
  • August 24, Sunday: Opening Convocation, Moody Coliseum.
  • August 25, Monday: First day of classes.
  • August 29, Friday: Last day to enroll, add courses or drop courses without grade record. Last day to file for graduation in December.
  • September 1, Monday: Labor Day. University closed.
  • September 10, Wednesday: Last day to declare pass/fail, no credit or first-year repeated course grading options. Last day to request an excused absence for the observance of a religious holiday.
  • September 29, Monday: Early intervention grades due for first-year undergraduate students.
  • October 13-14, Monday-Tuesday: Fall break.
  • October 24-25, Friday-Saturday: Family Weekend
  • October 26, Sunday: Midterm grades due for first-year and sophomore students.
  • October 27, Monday: Last day for continuing undergraduate students to change their majors before November enrollment. 
  • November 3, Monday: 60 percent point of the term that federal financial aid has been earned if a student officially withdraws from SMU; prior to this date a partial calculated return to federal programs will be required.
  • November 3-21, Monday-Friday: Enrollment for spring 2015 continuing students for all undergraduates and for graduates in Dedman College, Lyle and Meadows.
  • November 7, Friday: Last day to drop a course.
  • November 13, Thursday: Last day for December graduation candidates to change grades of Incomplete.
  • November 14-15, Friday-Saturday: Homecoming Weekend.
  • November 21, Friday: Students should file for May graduation. The last day to file is January 23, 2015.
  • November 25, Tuesday: Last day to withdraw from the University.
  • November 26, Wednesday: No classes.
  • November 27-28, Thursday-Friday: Thanksgiving holiday. University closed.
  • December 3-8, Wednesday-Monday: No final examinations or unscheduled tests and papers.
  • December 4, Thursday: Last day for oral/written examinations for December graduate degree candidates.
  • December 8, Monday: Last day of classes.
  • December 9-10, Tuesday-Wednesday: Reading days.
  • December 11-17, Thursday-Wednesday: Examinations. (No examinations scheduled for Saturday and Sunday).
  • December 18, Thursday: Residence halls close at 10:00 a.m. for winter break. (December graduates and residential students who need winter break housing should contact the Department of Residence Life and Student Housing).
  • December 20, Saturday: Official close of term and date for conferral of degrees. Graduation ceremony for December graduates.
  • December 24–January 1, Wednesday–Thursday: University closed.
  • December 25, Thursday: Christmas Day.

January Interterm 2015

Some areas of instruction offer selected courses during the January interterm, December 18-January 14.

  • January 1, Thursday: New Year's Day. University closed.

J Term at SMU-in-Plano

  • January 5, Monday: First day of classes.
  • January 6, Tuesday: Last day to declare pass/fail.
  • January 13, Tuesday: Last day to drop/withdraw from the University.
  • January 14, Wednesday: Last day of classes, including exams.

J Term at SMU-in-Taos

Note: The following dates are applicable only for SMU-in-Taos. Permission of the SMU-in-Taos program is required for all enrollments.

  • January 2, Friday: Wellness student travel/arrival.
  • January 4, Sunday: Regular session travel/arrival.
  • January 5, Monday: First day of classes.
  • January 14, Wednesday: Last day of classes, including exams.
  • January 15, Thursday: Departure of students.

Spring Term 2015

  • November 3-January 23, Monday-Friday: Enrollment for spring 2015 continuing students for all undergraduates and graduates in Dedman College, Lyle and Meadows.
  • January - TBA: Academic Advising, Enrollment and Orientation for new first-year and transfer undergraduate students. Conference dates to be announced. Additional information about AARO is available from New Student Programs, Student Life Office, 214-768-4560, www.smu.edu/newstudent.
  • January 1, Thursday: New Year's Day. University closed.
  • January 13, Tuesday: Residence halls officially open at 9:00 a.m. 
  • January 16, Friday: First day of classes.
  • January 19, Monday: Martin Luther King, Jr. Day. University closed.
  • January 23, Friday: Last day to enroll, add courses or drop courses without grade record. Last day to file for May graduation.
  • February 3, Tuesday: Last day to declare pass/fail, no credit or first- year repeated course grading options. Also, last day to request an excused absence for the observance of a religious holiday.
  • February 22, Sunday: Early intervention grades due for first-year undergraduate students.
  • March 9-15, Monday-Sunday: Spring break.
  • March 24, Tuesday: Midterm grades due for first-year and sophomore students.
  • March 30, Monday: Last day for continuing undergraduate students to change their majors before April enrollment. 
  • March 31, Monday: 60 percent point of the term that federal financial aid has been earned if a student officially withdraws from SMU; prior to this date a partial calculated return to federal programs will be required.
  • April 3, Friday: Good Friday. University closed.
  • April 5, Sunday: Easter Sunday.
  • April 6-24, Monday-Friday: Enrollment for summer 2015 and fall 2015 continuing students for all undergraduates and for graduates in Dedman College, Lyle and Meadows.
  • April 8, Wednesday: Last day to drop a course.
  • April 10, Friday: Last Day for May graduation candidates to change grades of Incomplete.
  • April 13, Monday: Honors Convocation, 5:30 p.m.
  • April 16, Thursday: Students should file for August or December graduation. Last day to file for August graduation is June 4. Last day to file for December graduation is the last day to enroll for fall 2015.
  • April 24, Friday: Last day to withdraw from the University.
  • April 29-May 4, Wednesday-Monday: No final examinations or unscheduled tests and papers.
  • April 30, Thursday: Last day for oral/written examinations for graduate students who are May degree candidates.
  • May 4, Monday: Last day of classes.
  • May 5, Tuesday: Reading Day.
  • May 6-12, Wednesday-Tuesday: Examinations (No examinations scheduled for Sunday).
  • May 13, Wednesday: Residence halls officially close for non-graduating students.
  • May 15, Friday: Baccalaureate.
  • May 16, Saturday: Commencement.
  • May 17, Sunday: Residence halls officially close for graduating seniors.

May Interterm 2015

Some areas of instruction may offer a limited number of selected courses during the May term, May 13-30. Each May term course may have unique start and end dates within the May 13-30 term to accommodate the particular needs of the course.

May Term at SMU in Dallas 2015

Classes meet 4 hours a day, Monday through Friday.

  • May 14, Thursday: First day of classes.
  • May 15, Friday: Last day to enroll or add courses. Also, last day to declare pass/fail, no credit or first-year repeated course grading options.
  • May 25, Monday: Memorial Day. University closed.
  • May 26, Tuesday: Last day to drop/withdraw from the university.
  • May 29, Friday: Last day of classes, including examinations.
    June 4, Thursday: Last day to file for August graduation*

*NOTE - Students planning to complete their degree requirements during the May Term should complete an Application for Candidacy to Graduate (via the Student Center) for August degree conferral. Specific information is available from the student’s academic degree counselor.

May Term at SMU-in-Taos 2015

NOTE: The following dates are applicable only for SMU-in-Taos. Permission of SMU-in-Taos program required for all enrollments.

  • May 13, Wednesday: Travel day and arrival of students, 2-6 p.m.
  • May 14, Thursday: First Day of Classes.
  • May 29, Friday: Examinations.
  • May 30, Saturday: Departure of students.

Summer Term 2015

The summer term consists of three primary sessions: first session, second session and a full summer session. Each primary session has different deadline dates. There are also shorter and longer sessions to accommodate the particular needs of the various instructional units such as SMU Abroad, SMU-in-Taos, and Perkins School of Theology.

Full Summer Session

Note: Classes will meet 2 hours and 15 minutes twice a week or 1 hour and 30 minutes three times a week.

  • May 25, Monday: Memorial Day. University closed.
  • June 1, Monday: First day of classes.
  • June 4, Thursday: Last day to enroll, add courses or drop courses without grade record. Last day to file for August graduation.
  • June 10, Wednesday: Last day to declare pass/fail, no credit or first-year repeated course grading options.
  • July 3, Friday: Independence Day holiday. University closed.
  • July 4, Saturday: Independence Day.
  • July 16, Thursday: Last day for August graduation candidates to change grades of Incomplete.
  • July 23, Thursday: Last day to drop a course.
  • July 29, Wednesday: Last day to withdraw from the University.
  • August 4, Tuesday: Last day of classes, including examinations. Official close of the term and date for conferral of degrees.

First Session

Note: Classes meet two hours a day, Monday-Friday.

  • May 25, Monday: Memorial Day. University closed.
  • June 1, Monday: First day of classes.
  • June 2, Monday: Last day to enroll, add courses or drop courses without grade record.
  • June 4, Thursday: Last day to declare pass/fail, no credit or first-year repeated course grading options. Last day to file for August graduation.
  • June 23, Tuesday: Last day to drop a course.
  • June 24, Wednesday: Last day to withdraw from the University.
  • June 30, Tuesday: Last day of classes, including examinations.

Summer I Session at SMU-in-Taos

NOTE: The following dates are applicable only for SMU-in-Taos. Permission of the SMU-in-Taos program is required for all enrollments.

  • June 3, Wednesday: Arrival of students.
  • June 4, Thursday: First Day of Classes.
  • June 5, Friday: Last day to enroll, add courses and drop courses without grade record. Permission of SMU-in-Taos program is required for all enrollments.
  • July 1, Wednesday: Examinations.
  • July 2, Thursday: Departure of students.

June Term at SMU-in-Taos

The June Term at SMU-in-Taos within the Summer I Session is a short, intense term in which students may take up to 4 credits hours. Permission of the SMU-in-Taos program is required for all enrollments. Additional information is available online at http://www.smu.edu/taos.

Second Session

Classes meet two hours a day, Monday-Friday

  • June 5, Thursday: Last day to file for August Graduation.
  • July 3-4, Friday: Independence Day holiday. University closed Friday.
  • July 6, Monday: First day of classes.
  • July 7, Tuesday: Last day to enroll, add courses or drop without grade record.
  • July 9, Thursday: Last day to declare Pass/Fail, no credit or first-year repeated course grading options.
  • July 15, Wednesday: Last day for August graduation candidates to change grades of Incomplete.
  • July 27, Monday: Last day to drop a course.
  • July 29, Wednesday: Last day to withdraw from the University.
  • August 4, Tuesday: Last day of classes, including examinations. Official close of the term and conferral date.

August Term at SMU-in-Taos

Note: The following dates are applicable only for SMU-in-Taos. Permission of SMU-in-Taos program required for all enrollments.

  • August 4, Tuesday: Travel day and arrival of students, 4-6 p.m.
  • August 5, Wednesday: First day of classes
  • August 6, Thursday: Last day to enroll, add courses and drop courses without grade record.
  • August 20, Thursday: Examinations.
  • August 21, Friday: Departure of students.

Major Religious Holidays

August 2014-August 2015

Listing of religious holidays for use in requesting excused absences according to University Policy 1.9. For religious holidays not listed, the instructor or supervisor may contact the Office of the Chaplain.

Christian

Christmas December 25, 2014
Good Friday April 3, 2015
Easter Sunday April 5, 2015
Easter Sunday (Orthodox) April 12, 2015

Hindu

Janmashtami August 17, 2014
Dasera October 4, 2014
Diwali October 23, 2014

Jewish*

*All holidays begin at sundown before the first day noted and conclude at sundown on the day(s) noted.
Rosh Hashanah September 24-25, 2014
Yom Kippur October 4, 2014
Sukkot October 9-15, 2014
Hanukkah December 17-24, 2014
Pesach (Passover) April 4-11, 2015
Shavuot May 24-25, 2015

Muslim

Eid al Adha October 4, 2014
Islamic New Year October 25, 2014
Ashura November 5, 2014
Mawlid an Nabi January 3, 2015
Ramadan June 18 - July 18, 2015
Eid al Fitr July 18, 2015