Summer Symposium

Each summer, the Office of Engaged Learning sponsors the Summer Research Symposium, a weekly speaker series highlighting research and entrepreneurship by SMU faculty and invited guests. These events are open to the public. 

2024 Speakers

June 12: Dr. Beth Wheaton-Páramo, Economics

June 19: Dr. Peng Tao, Chemistry

June 26: Dr. Alexander Chase, Earth Sciences

July 10: Faculty Panel: How Do I Get a Grant?

July 17: Dr. Jeanna Wieselmann, Teaching and Learning

July 24: Faculty Panel: Resilience in Research

Previous Speakers

  • Dr. Candace Walkington, Associate Professor, Teaching and Learning
  • Professor Mary Spector, Professor, Dedman Law
  • Dr. Anindita Das, Assistant Professor, Chemistry
  • Dr. Ernest Jouriles, Professor, Psychology
  • Dr. Eli Olinick, Associate Professor, Operations Research & Engineering Management
  • Faculty Panel: Bouncing Back from Failure (Dr. Crystal Clayton (Hegi Career Center), Dr. Sarah Kucker (Psychology), Dr. David Son (Chemistry), Dr. Lynne Stokes (Statistical Science) )

  • Dr. Barbara Minsker, Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Dr. Stephanie Wilson, Assistant Professor of Psychology
  • Doug Gray, Director of Data Science, Walmart Global Tech
  • Dr. Heather De Shon, Professor of Earth Sciences
  • Dr. Doran Bennett, Assistant Professor of Chemistry
  • Dr. Andrew Davies, Director of Research, Deason Criminal Justice Reform Center

  • Grant and Ka'i Roberts Fu, Magnus Media Group
  • Dr. Priscilla Lui, Assistant Professor of Psychology
  • Dr. Janille Smith-Colin, Assistant Professor and Dr. Jessie Zarazaga, Clinical Associate Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Dr. Alejandro Aceves, Professor and Dr. Andrea Barreiro, Associate Professor, Mathematics
  • Alex Quian, Author and Social Impact Entrepreneur

  • Dr. Joseph Camp, Professor of Electrical Engineering
  • Clay Carson, Senior Principal Engineering Fellow, Raytheon Technologies
  • David Cherrie, CEO, Arcade
  • Dr. Dominique Baker, Assistant Professor of Education Policy & Leadership
  • Dr. Adam Herring, Professor of Art History
  • Dr. Maryann Cairns, Assistant Professor of Anthropology, and Sergio Guadarrama, Project Runway

  • Niraj Verma, PhD Student, SMU Chemistry
  • Dr. Alex Lippert, Associate Professor of Chemistry
  • Dr. Adam Norris, Assistant Professor of Biological Sciences
  • Dr. Tony Cuevas, Clinical Professor. of Instructional Design
  • Dr. Simon Lee, Associate Professor of Population & Data Sciences, UT Southwestern
  • Dr. Holly Bowen, Assistant Professor of Psychology

  • Dr. Robert Kehoe, Professor of Physics
  • Kasi Holcomb-Webb, Senior, Biological Sciences
  • Dr. David Son, Professor of Chemistry
  • Dr. Jill Kelly, Associate Professor of History