HOPE Award and Banquet

The Honoring Our Professors’ Excellence (HOPE) Banquet provides a unique way to celebrate the hard work and accomplishments of faculty alongside the students who nominated them.

Residence Life & Student Housing (RLSH) believes that it is important to highlight those professors who have gone above and beyond in their role.

The HOPE Banquet is an opportunity each spring for students from all residential communities to celebrate faculty excellence and involvement in the student experience at SMU.

2023 HOPE Award & Banquet Photo Gallery 


Nominate a professor

Do you have a professor you'd like to nominate for the HOPE Professor of the Year Award? Nominations are solicited from mid-November through the end of the fall term. Check your SMU email address for additional details. 

HOPE award recipients

2023 Prof. Liliana Hickman-Riggs

2022 Prof. Dan L. Lawrence

2021 Prof. Jessica Wickersham

2020 Dr. Jill DeTemple

2019 Dr. Jeffrey Engle

2018 Dr. Alice Kendrick

2017 Dr. Mark Chancey

2016 Dr. Stephen Sekula

2015 Dr. Eric Larson

2014 Dr. Liljana Elverskog





2009 Dr. Wayne Shaw

2008 Dr. Mark Fontenot

2007 Prof. Kelli Herd

2006 Dr. Larry Ruben

2005 Prof. Kelli Herd








Distinguished nominees

Since 1998, more than 650 professors have been recognized by students as HOPE professors. Thirty-one of those professors are considered Distinguished HOPE professors, having been nominated five years or more by student nominators.

Prof. Andrea Adams

Dr. Stephanie Amsel

Dr. Edward Biehl

Prof. Teresa Brentegani

Dr. Mark Chancey

Dr. Michael Connolly

Dr. Shawn Dennis

Dr. Sandra Duhe

Dr. Melissa Dowling

Dr. David Doyle

Dr. Liljana Elverskog

Dr. Mark Fontenot

Prof. Diana Grumbles

Dr. Rick Halperin

Prof. Liliana Hickman-Riggs

Dr. James Hopkins

Prof. Vanessa Hopper

Dr. Yildirim Hurmuzlu

Dr. Alice Kendrick

Prof. Joseph Kobylka

Prof. Michael Lattman

Dr. Bruce Levy

Dr. Glenn Linden

Dr. Michael Lusztig

Dr. Owen Lynch

Prof. Jennifer O'Brien

Prof. Patti Rawlins

Dr. Wayne Shaw

Dr. Stephen Sekula

Prof. Ann Shattles

Dr. Greg Sommers

Dr. David Son

Dr. Tom Stone

Dr. Elizabeth Wheaton

Dr. John Wise

Dr. Patty Wisian-Neilson

Prof. Bruan Zoltowski