Workshops

Learning Strategies Workshop Schedule


Spring 2020

Each workshop lasts 45-60 minutes (unless otherwise noted), including instruction and take-home information to help put new techniques to work. Drop in for one or all sessions. No reservations required. 

 

If you are unable to attend a workshop, schedule an appointment with a learning specialist for all topics excluding Excel.  

 

Online workshops are held through Zoom, a video conferencing system.  If you have not logged into Zoom before, please do so here before joining one of our online workshops.  

There are two Excel workshops that will be facilitated by professionals in the Office of Information Technology on Tuesday, April 7.  Intro to Excel is at 3PM CST, and Excel Functions Made Easy is at 4:15PM CST.  Click here to join either workshop.  

There are four online Plan a Successful Finish: The Last Month workshops. 

               1. To join the workshop on Wednesday, April 8 at 3PM CT, click here.

               2. To join the workshop on Thursday, April 9 at 4PM CT, click here.

               3. To join the workshop on Monday, April 13 at 2PM CT, click here.

               4. To join the workshop on Tuesday, April 14 at 3:30PM CT, click here

There are two online Prepare for Finals: The Last Week workshops.

               1. To join the workshop on Monday, April 27 at 4PM CT, click here

               2. To join the workshop on Tuesday, April 28 at 2:30PM CT, click here.  

Workshop Schedule by Date:

Workshop Day Time Location
Time Management Tues, January 21 4:00 PM A-LEC 202O
Transfer Students: Your Transition to SMU Wed, January 22 4:00 PM A-LEC 202O
Time Management Wed, January 22 5:00 PM A-LEC 202O
Transfer Students: Your Transition to SMU Thurs, January 23 1:00 PM A-LEC 202O
Transfer Students: Your Transition to SMU Thurs, January 23 4:30 PM Armstrong 126
Time Management Mon, January 27 2:00 PM Fondren 103
Note-Taking & Organization Tues, January 28 5:00 PM A-LEC 202O
Concentration & Textbook Reading  Wed, January 29 3:00 PM A-LEC 202O
Time Management Thurs, January 30 4:00 PM A-LEC 202O
Technology Resources & Canvas Mon, February 3 4:00 PM A-LEC 202O
Career Readiness w/ Microsoft Office Cert & LinkedIn Mon, February 3 5:00 PM A-LEC 202O
Goal-Setting Tues, February 4 3:30 PM A-LEC 202O
Study Groups: Maximize Your Learning Tues, February 4 5:00 PM A-LEC 202O
Note-Taking & Organization Wed, February 5 3:00 PM A-LEC 202O
Time Management Thurs,February 6 4:00 PM A-LEC 202O
Test Prep: Essay & Multiple Choice  Mon, February 10 3:00 PM A-LEC 202O
Test Prep: Essay & Multiple Choice Tues, February 11 4:00 PM A-LEC 202O
Stress Management & Test Anxiety Wed, February 12 4:00 PM A-LEC 202O
Memory Techniques Tues, February 18 4:00 PM A-LEC 202O
Time Management Wed, February 19 4:00 PM *Online- Zoom
Concentration & Textbook Reading Thurs, February 20 3:30 PM A-LEC 202O
Time Management Mon, February 24 5:00 PM A-LEC 202O
Test Prep: Essay & Multiple Choice Wed, February 26 2:00 PM A-LEC 202O
De-bugging in JAVA  Wed, February 26 4:30-6 PM A-LEC 202O
Motivation Thurs, February 27 4:00 PM A-LEC 202O
Interdependence & Emotional Intelligence Tues, March 3 3:30 PM A-LEC 202O
Memory Techniques Wed, March 4 4:00 PM A-LEC 202O
Time Management & Online Learning Wed, March 25 4:00 PM *Online-Zoom
GPA 101: SMU Survival Skills Thurs, March 26 4:00 PM *Online- Zoom
Time Management & Online Learning  Mon, March 30 2:00 PM *Online- Zoom
Stress Management & Test Anxiety Mon, March 30 3:00 PM *Online- Zoom
Stress Management & Test Anxiety Thurs, April 2 4:00 PM *Online- Zoom
Crash Course in Excel Tues, April 7 3:00 PM *Online- Zoom
Excel Functions Made Easy Tues, April 7 4:15 PM *Online- Zoom
       
Workshops for Finishing the Semester Strong- Choose ONE and bring your calendar and all syllabi!
Plan a Successful Finish: The Last Month Wed, April 8 3:00 PM *Online- Zoom
Thurs, April 9 4:00 PM *Online- Zoom
Mon, April 13 2:00 PM *Online- Zoom
Tues, April 14 3:30 PM *Online- Zoom
Prepare for Finals: The Last Week Mon, April 27 4:00 PM *Online- Zoom
Tues, April 28 2:30 PM *Online- Zoom