About Us

OR Vision

SMU is a preeminent, private research university with a legacy of scholarly impact, creating knowledge and leaders through research and graduate education.

OR Mission

The Office of Research and the Moody School of Graduate and Advanced Studies advance the goals of SMU’s 2nd Century Strategic Plan to enhance the academic quality and stature of the University by supporting and safeguarding the growth of research and graduate education.  The OR aims to provide leadership, quality communication, responsiveness and transparency to the research community.  The OR provides leadership in the development of new research initiatives, guidance and assistance through intellectual property development, grant management, and adherence to regulations and policies, and facilitates graduate recruitment, retention and graduation.

Responsibilities

  • We assist faculty members seeking external funding and conducting externally funded research and other projects.

  • We strive to administer sponsored project activity to meet the University's objectives.

  • We provide information and support so that faculty may conduct their externally funded research and other projects in compliance with terms and conditions in the award agreement and with University Policy.

  • We seek to expand the quantity and diversity of research and sponsored project activity and thereby maximize its contribution to the University.

  • We provide information on potential funding sources; we administer the preparation, internal approval and submission of proposals

  • We negotiate, accept and administer awards for research and other sponsored projects.

Mailing Address:
Office of Research
P.O. Box 750240
Dallas, TX 75275-0240
Physical Address:
Office of Research
Perkins Administration Building
6425 Boaz Lane, Suite 101
Dallas, TX 75205

Org Chart:

Org Chart

Office of Research Directory

Name Job Title Telephone Email
James E. Quick Associate Provost for Research 214-768-1115 jquick@smu.edu
Karen Wray Executive Assistant II to the Dean
214-768-4063 wrayk@smu.edu
Shannon Lunt Assistant Vice President for Research 214-768-2029 slunt@smu.edu
Mary-Collette Lybrand Director of Innovation 214-768-4841 TBD
Heather McClary Director of Research Compliance 214-768-2030 hpowell@smu.edu
Trang Dinh Research Compliance Manager 214-768-4204 trangd@smu.edu
Ruth V. Lozano Director of Sponsored Projects and Contracts 214-768-4708 rlozano@smu.edu
Katie Wu Grant & Contract Management Specialist 214-768-2015 wuqiong@smu.edu
Leslie Allen Grant & Contract Management Specialist 214-768-2047 lyallen@smu.edu
Christina Valle Grant & Contract Management Specialist 214-768-1692 vallec@smu.edu
Wendy Henry Grant & Contract Management Specialist 214-768-6073 wendy@smu.edu
Sidney Wright Coordinator 214-768-4841 sidneywright@smu.edu