Staff Advocacy Council

Staff Association Advocacy Council Banner

The Staff Advocacy Council (SAC) is an extension of the SMU Staff Association and consists of representatives from SMU’s schools and divisions. The purpose of the Staff Advocacy Council is to facilitate dialogue regarding areas of common staff interests and concern, to provide insight on University initiatives to administrators, and to submit recommendations on behalf of the staff community.

SMU staff members are encouraged to share ideas with University Administration through the Council. If you have a suggestion, let us know! SMU staff members may contact their representatives directly or use the SAC online submission form below to share ideas and suggestions.

Let us hear from you!

Have a suggestion? 

Tell Us

Please Note:  Individual personnel matters must be addressed through SMU’s Department of Human Resources.

Staff Advocacy Council Members, 2021–2022:

Department

Representative

Campus Box #

Phone Number

Email

Council Chair

Raina Watts 133

x 8-3003

rawatts@smu.edu

Athletics

Mariah Chappell

315

x 8-3585

mcchappell@smu.edu 

Business & Finance
(includes Campus Services and Facilities Planning & Management)

Gail Darden

510

x 8-1442

gdarden@smu.edu

Cox School of Business

Anna Martinez

xxx

x 8-4474

annam@smu.edu

Development and External Affairs

Michelle Baehl

281
x 8-4559
mbaehl@smu.edu

Dedman College

Scot Montague

235
x 8-2809
smontagu@smu.edu

Dedman School of Law

Winston Tubb

116

x 8-1832

wtubb@smu.edu

DES, Taos, Int’l Programs

Claudia Castillo

181

x 8-3516

cycastillo@smu.edu

Legal Affairs

Diane Rives

132
x 8-1903
drives@smu.edu

Lyle School of Engineering

Christy Ahsanullah 338 x 8-4120  cahsanullah@smu.edu

Meadows School of the Arts

Ryan Cole

356

x 8-2079

rncole@smu.edu

Perkins School of Theology

Rachel Holmes

133

x 8-3515

rdwight@smu.edu 

President’s Office (including OIT and Investments Office)

Karie Conklin

262

x 8-3805

kconklin@smu.edu

Provost’s Office (including SMU Libraries and LEC)

Ed Collins

221 x 8-4911
elcollins@smu.edu

Simmons School of Education

Jill Moore

382

x 8-7797

jillm@smu.edu 

Student Affairs

Kaleb Loomis  282  x 8-4503  kloomis@smu.edu 

If you believe your department is not currently represented by a Council member, please contact the SAC Chair. The Immediate Past-President of the SMU Staff Association chairs the Council.