Photobar-FacultyPage 

People

Faculty & Research

Directory

 Bianca Batista
Bianca Batista, Ph.D.
Professor of Practice
Ph.D. University of Texas
bbatista@smu.edu
214-768-4069
DLSB 335
Research interests:
My research interests focus on studying the mechanisms involved
in the biogenesis of exosomes and other secreted microvesicles.
Santosh D'Mello
Santosh DMello, Ph.D.
Professor
Ph.D. University of Pittsburgh
sdmello@smu.edu
214-768-4234
DLSB 113
Research interests:
Research in the lab is centered on understanding the molecular
mechanisms regulating neurodegeneration.
Carolyn Harrod
Carolyn Harrod, M.A.T.
Laboratory Coordinator & Instructor
M.A. in Teaching Science Education,
University of Texas at Dallas
charrod@smu.edu
214-768-1658
FOSC 063
Undergraduate teaching:
Carolyn Harrod teaches and coordinates introductory level Biology
labs for the department. 
Robert Harrod
Robert Harrod, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Advisor for Graduate Studies
Ph.D. University of Maryland
rharrod@smu.edu
214-768-3864
DLSB 334
Research interests:
Molecular Mechanisms of Viral Carcinogenesis: HTLVs and High-Risk Subtype HPVs
 Richard Jones Richard Jones, Ph.D.
Professor
Ph.D. Wesleyan University
rjones@smu.edu
214-768-3810
DLSB 333
Research interests:
Epigenetic Gene Regulation by Polycomb-Group Proteins
  Adam D. Norris
Assistant Professor
adnorris@smu.edu  

Research interests:
RNA binding proteins and post-transcriptional regulation. Combinatorial genetics. Neuron-specific regulation of alternative splicing.

Eva Oberdoerster Eva Oberdorster, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer
Ph.D. Duke University
eoberdor@smu.edu
214-768-1241
DLSB 241
Research interests:
Environmental Toxicology / Nanoparticle Toxicology / Endocrine Distruptors 
William Orr

William Orr, Ph.D.
Professor, Department Chair
Ph.D. Wayne State University
borr@smu.edu
214-768-4018
DLSB113C

Research interests:
My principle research focus lies in the use of transgenic and genetic models to identify mechanisms that affect aging, with emphasis on the impact of redox regulation.
Svetlana Radyuk Svetlana N. Radyuk, Ph.D.
Research Associate Professor
Ph.D. Research Institute for Applied Microbiology
snradyuk@smu.edu
214-768-2892
DLSB 340
Research interests:
My main interest is to understand the interrelationship between immunity and aging.

Theresa Strecker Teresa Strecker, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer
Ph.D. University of California at Los Angeles
tstrecker@smu.edu
214-768-1784
DLSB 240
Research interests:
Developmental Biology / Gene Regulation During Embryonic Development 
Steven Vik Steven Vik, Ph.D.
Professor
Advisor for Undergraduate Biochemistry Majors
Ph.D. University of Oregon
svik@smu.edu
214-768-4228
DLSB 236
Research interests:
Dr. Vik is interested in the structure, function, and assembly of the membrane-bound enzymes that are involved in oxidative phosphorylation. His research group is currently investigating Complex I from E. coli.
 
Pia Vogel Pia Vogel, Ph.D.
Professor
Ph.D. University of Kaiserlautern
pvogel@smu.edu
214-768-1790
DLSB 233
Research interests:
Structure, Molecular Dynamics and Protein-Protein Interactions of Nucleotide Binding Proteins

F1Fo -ATP-Synthase
Multidrug Resistance Proteins
Ryanodine Receptor

ATP Synthase: Protein-Protein Interactions 
John Wise
John G. Wise, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Ph.D. University of Rochester
jwise@smu.edu
214-768-3426
DLSB 332
Research interests:
Multiple Drug Resistance Proteins
Rotary Motors from Biology and ATP Synthase Research
Combinatorial Biology and the Evolution of DNA Binding Proteins
Toxins and Toxic Genes for Selection Systems and Therapies
In silico Simulation and Modeling of Protein and Small Molecule Structures