Give Now

Search Programs

Study Abroad

Summer 2017 Programs

Please see the table below for programs offered Summer 2017. Dates are accessible on each program's page; here, the programs are organized by the summer session in which they will be offered.  Programs that begin sometime in Summer Session I and end sometime in Summer Session II are listed under "Begins in Session I." Please note that this does not necessarily mean the program will last for the length of both sessions; with a few exceptions, most summer programs are about 5 weeks long.

Applications for Summer 2017 will be accepted December 1 through February 1.

Summer Session I

SMU-in-Bali
Arts, Culture, and Music
Director: Jamal Mohamed, jmohmed@smu.edu
smu.edu/Bali 
SMU-in-Costa Rica
Language and Culture
Director: Verónica León, vleon@smu.edu
smu.edu/CostaRica 
SMU-in-Germany
Language, Culture, and Engineering
Director: Marlies Gäettens, mgaetten@smu.edu
smu.edu/GermanyLCE
SMU-in-Italy
Language, Arts, and Culture
Director: Kathy Windrow, kathyw@smu.edu
smu.edu/Italy 
 
SMU-in-Japan
International Studies
Director: Hiroki Takeuchi, htakeuch@smu.edu
smu.edu/Japan 

SMU-in-London
Arts and Culture
Co-Directors: Gretchen Smith, gesmith@smu.edu
Shelley Berg, sberg@smu.edu
smu.edu/LondonArts
SMU-in-London
Communications
Director: Rita Kirk, rkirk@smu.edu
Assistant: Lisa Goodson, lisag@smu.edu
smu.edu/LondonComm
SMU-in-Madrid
Language, Literature, and Culture
Director: Olga Colbert, olvalero@smu.edu
smu.edu/Madrid 
SMU-in-Prague
Language, Culture, and Engineering
Director: Tatiana Zimakova, tzimakov@smu.edu
SMU-in-Rome-Paris
History: Rome of the Emperors, Paris of the King's
Co-Directors: Melissa Dowling, mdowling@smu.edu 
Kathleen Wellman, kwellman@smu.edu

SMU-in-Seville
Language and Internships
Director: Leticia McDoniel, mcdoniel@smu.edu

smu.edu/Seville

SMU-in-South Africa**
Arts, Culture, History, and Human Rights
Director: Barbara Hill-Moore, bhmoore@smu.edu
smu.edu/SouthAfrica
SMU-in-Tokyo
Data Visualization and Creative Computing
Director: Ira Greenberg, igreenberg@smu.edu



 


Summer Session II

SMU-in-France
Language, Culture, and History
Director: Paola Buckley, pbuckley@smu.edu
smu.edu/France
 

SMU-in-London
Communications Internships
Director: Owen Lynch, olynch@smu.edu
smu.edu/LondonCommInternship

Due to the high number of submissions, the application for this program is now closed to any new applications.

SMU-in-Oxford
International Studies
Co-Directors: Dan Orlovsky, dorlovsk@smu.edu
Michael Holahan, mholahan@smu.edu   smu.edu/Oxford

SMU-in-Rwanda
Engineering
Director: Andrew Quicksall, aquicksall@smu.edu


Begins in Session I

SMU-in-China
Language
Director: Yan Xia, yxia@smu.edu
smu.edu/China
 
SMU-in-Glasgow
STEM Research
Director: Fredrick Olness, olness@smu.edu 

SMU Internship Program   
London Business (Cox students only)
Contact: Barbara Mohrle, bmohrle@smu.edu
smu.edu/LondonBusinessInternship

Due to the high number of submissions, the application for this program is now closed to any new applications.
SMU Internship Program
Dublin
Contact: abroad@smu.edu (non-Cox students)
Barbara Mohrle, bmohrle@smu.edu (Cox students)
smu.edu/DublinInternship

 

**Blended Program: Portion of the program is offered on SMU campus


SMU-in-Madrid
Language, Literature, and Culture
Director: Olga Colbert, olvalero@smu.edu
smu.edu/Madrid 

SMU-in-Prague
Language, Culture, and Engineering
Director: Tatiana Zimakova, tzimakov@smu.edu
SMU-in-Prague
Language, Culture, and Engineering
Director: Tatiana Zimakova, tzimakov@smu.edu
SMU-in-Prague
Language, Culture, and Engineering
Director: Tatiana Zimakova, tzimakov@smu.edu
SMU-in-Prague
Language, Culture, and Engineering
Director: Tatiana Zimakova, tzimakov@smu.edu

SMU-in-Italy
Language, Arts, and Culture
Director: Kathy Windrow, kathyw@smu.edu
smu.edu/Italy 

SMU-in-Costa Rica
Language and Culture
Director: Verónica León, vleon@smu.edu
smu.edu/CostaRica 
SMU-in-Costa Rica
Language and Culture
Director: Verónica León, vleon@smu.edu
smu.edu/CostaRica 
SMU-in-Costa Rica
Language and Culture
Director: Verónica León, vleon@smu.edu
smu.edu/CostaRica 
SMU-in-Costa Rica
Language and Culture
Director: Verónica León, vleon@smu.edu
smu.edu/CostaRica 
SMU-in-Costa Rica
Language and Culture
Director: Verónica León, vleon@smu.edu
smu.edu/CostaRica 

SMU-in-Rome-Paris
History: Rome of the Emperors, Paris of the King's
Co-Directors: Melissa Dowling, mdowling@smu.edu 
Kathleen Wellman, kwellman@smu.edu
SMU-in-Rome-Paris
History: Rome of the Emperors, Paris of the King's
Co-Directors: Melissa Dowling, mdowling@smu.edu 
Kathleen Wellman, kwellman@smu.edu