Give Now

This calendar includes an addendum listing religious holidays for use in requesting excused absences according to University Policy 1.9. For religious holidays not listed, the instructor or supervisor may contact the Office of the Chaplain.

Graduate Programs in the Cox School of Business, Graduate Programs in the School of Engineering, Perkins School of Theology and Dedman School of Law have different calendars.

Offices of the University will be closed on September 3, November 22-23, December 24-28, 2007; January 1, January 21, March 21, May 26 and July 4, 2008.

Fall Term 2007

  • March 26 – April 13: Monday – Friday, Enrollment Fall 2007 Continuing Students: all undergraduates; graduate Dedman & Meadows.
  • May/July/August -TBA: Academic Advising, Enrollment and Orientation (AARO) conferences for new first year and transfer undergraduate students. Conference dates to be announced. Contact New Student Programs, Student Life Office, 214-768-4560. www.smu.edu/newstudent.
  • August 21, Tuesday: Residence halls officially open.
  • August 22, Wednesday: Opening Convocation, McFarlin Auditorium.
  • August 23, Thursday: First day of classes.
  • August 29, Wednesday: Last day to enroll, add courses or drop courses without grade record or tuition billing. Last day to file for graduation in December.
  • September 3, Monday: University Holiday – Labor Day
  • September 10, Monday: Last day to declare pass/fail, no credit or first-year repeated course grading options. Last day to request excused absence for observance of a religious holiday.
  • September 28-29: Friday-Saturday: Family Weekend.
  • October 5, Friday: Last day for continuing undergraduate students to change their major for November enrollment.
  • October 29-November 16, Monday-Friday: Enrollment Spring 2008 Continuing Students for all undergraduates and graduate Dedman and Meadows.
  • November 1, Thursday: 60% point of the term that federal financial aid has been earned if a student officially withdraws from SMU—prior to this date a partial calculated return to federal programs will be required.
  • November 5, Monday: Last day to drop a course.
  • November 9, Friday: Last day for December graduation candidates to change grades of incomplete.
  • November 9-10: Friday-Saturday: Homecoming
  • November 19-20, Monday – Tuesday: Fall Break
  • November 21, Wednesday: No classes
  • November 22-23, Thursday-Friday: University Holidays – Thanksgiving
  • November 26, Monday: Students should file for May graduation. Last day to file is January 28.
  • November 27, Tuesday: Last day for oral/written examinations for December graduate degree candidates.
  • November 28, Wednesday: Last day to withdraw from the University.
  • December 3-6, Monday-Thursday: No final examinations or unscheduled tests and papers.
  • December 6, Thursday: Last day of instruction – Follows Monday class schedule
  • December 7-8, Friday – Saturday Reading Days – No Classes.
  • December 10-15, Monday-Saturday: Examinations (no examinations scheduled for Sunday)
  • December 15, Saturday, Official close of term and date for conferral of degrees.
  • Graduation ceremony for December graduates.
  • December 16, Sunday: Residence halls officially close.
  • December 24-28, Monday – Friday: University Holidays – Christmas/Winter Break

January Inter-term 2008

(Note: Some areas of instruction offer selected courses during the January Inter-term, December 17 – January 11.)

Spring Term 2008

  • October 29- November 16: Enrollment Spring 2008 Continuing Students: all undergraduates; graduate Dedman & Meadows.
  • January 7, Monday: Residence halls officially open.
  • January - TBA: Academic Advising, Enrollment and Orientation (AARO) conferences for new first year and transfer undergraduate students. Conference dates to be announced. Contact New Student Programs, Student Life Office, 214-768-4560
  • January 15, Tuesday: First day of classes.
  • January 21, Monday: University Holiday – Martin Luther King Jr’s Birthday
  • January 22, Tuesday: Follows Monday class schedule. Last day to enroll, add courses or drop courses without grade record or tuition billing. Last day to file for May graduation.
  • January 31 Thursday: Last day to declare Pass/Fail, No Credit or First Year Repeated Course grading option. Last day for students to request excused absence for observance of a religious holiday.
  • March 10-15, Monday - Saturday: Spring Break
  • March 21, Friday: University Holiday – Good Friday.
  • March 29, Saturday: 60% point of the term that federal financial aid has been earned if a student officially withdraws from SMU—prior to this date a partial calculated return to federal programs will be required.
  • March 31, Monday: Last day for continuing undergraduate students to change their major for April enrollment.
  • April 4, Friday: Last day to drop a course.
  • April 7- April 18 Monday-Friday: Summer 2008 and Fall 2008 Continuing Student Enrollment for all undergraduates and graduate Dedman and Meadows.
  • April 8, Tuesday: Last Day for May graduation candidates to change grades of Incomplete.
  • April 22, Tuesday: Last day to withdraw from the University.
  • April 23, Wednesday: Students should file for August or December graduation. Last day to file for August is June 1. Last day to file for December is the last day to enroll for Fall 2008.
  • April 25-30, Friday-Wednesday: No final examination or unscheduled test and papers.
  • April 28, Monday: Last day for oral/written examination for graduate students who are May degree candidates.
  • April 30, Wednesday: Follows Friday class schedule. Last day of instruction.
  • May 1-May 2, Thursday-Friday: Reading Days – No Classes.
  • May 3-9, Saturday - Friday: Examinations (no examination scheduled for Sunday)
  • May 10, Saturday: Residence halls officially close for non-graduating students.
  • May 16, Friday: Baccalaureate
  • May 17, Saturday: Commencement
  • May 26, Monday: University Holiday- Memorial Day.

May Term 2008

  • May 12, Monday: SMU-in-Taos: May Term Arrival and First Day of Classes, 2-6 p.m.
  • May 13, Tuesday: SMU-in-Taos: Last day to enroll, add courses or to drop courses without grade record or tuition billing. Permission of Taos Program required for all enrollments.
  • May 27, Tuesday: SMU-in-Taos: May Term Examinations
  • May 28, Wednesday: SMU-in-Taos: May Term Departure

Summer Term 2008

The Summer Term consists of three primary sessions: first session, second session, and a combined session. There are also shorter and longer sessions to accommodate the particular needs of the various instructional units such as SMU-In-Taos, International Programs and Perkins School of Theology.

Combined Ten-Week Summer Session

Classes will meet 2 hours and 15 minutes twice a week or 1 hour and 30 minutes three times a week.

  • May 29, Thursday: First day of Combined Summer Session classes.
  • June 3, Tuesday: Last day to enroll, add courses or drop courses without grade record or tuition billing for Combined Session course. Last day to file for August graduation.
  • June 9, Monday: Last day to declare Pass/Fail, No Credit or First-Year Repeated Course grading options for a Combined Session course.
  • June 14, Saturday: Additional class day for M/W/F and M/W classes.
  • July 4, Friday: University Holiday – Independence Day
  • July 7, Monday: 60% point of the term that federal financial aid has been earned if a student officially withdraws from SMU—prior to this date a partial calculated return to federal programs will be required.
  • July 15, Tuesday: Last day for August graduation candidates to change grades of Incomplete.
  • July 22, Tuesday: Last day to drop a Combined Summer Session course.
  • July 25, Friday: Last day to withdraw from the University.
  • July 26, Saturday, Additional class day for M/W/F, M/W and T/TH classes.
  • July 31, Thursday: Last day of Combined Summer Session instructions and examinations. Official close of the term and date for conferral of degrees.

First Session

Classes meet two hours a day, Monday - Friday.

  • May 29, Thursday: First day of First Session Classes.
  • May 30, Friday: Last day to enroll, add courses or drop courses without grade record or tuition billing for First Session courses.
  • June 3, Tuesday: Last day to declare Pass/Fail, No Credit or First-Year Repeated Course grading options for a First Session Course. Last day to file for August Graduation.
  • June 16, Monday: 60% point of the term that federal financial aid has been earned if a student officially withdraws from SMU—prior to this date a partial calculated return to federal programs will be required.
  • June 20, Friday: Last day to drop a First Session course.
  • June 23, Monday: Last day to withdraw from the University.
  • June 27, Friday: Last day of First Session instruction and examinations.

TAOS Summer I Session

  • May 30 Friday: SMU-in-Taos: Summer I Arrival and First Day of Classes
  • May 31 Saturday: SMU-in-Taos: Last day to enroll, add courses or to drop courses without grade record or tuition billing. Permission of Taos Program required for all enrollments.
  • June 23 Monday: SMU-in-Taos: Summer I Examinations
  • June 24 Tuesday: SMU-in-Taos: Summer I Departure.

Second Session

Classes meet two hours a day, Monday - Friday

  • July 1, Tuesday: First day of Second Session classes.
  • July 2, Wednesday: Last day to enroll, add courses or drop without grade record or tuition billing for Second Session courses.
  • July 4, Friday: University Holiday – Independence Day
  • July 7, Monday: Last day to declare Pass/Fail, No Credit or First-Year Repeated Course grading options for a Second Session course.
  • July 11, Friday: Last day for August graduation candidates to change grades of Incomplete.
  • July 20, Sunday: 60% point of the term that federal financial aid has been earned if a student officially withdraws from SMU—prior to this date a partial calculated return to federal programs will be required.
  • July 23, Wednesday, Last day to drop a Second Session course.
  • July 25, Friday: Last day to withdraw from the University.
  • July 31, Thursday: Last day of Second Session instruction and examinations. Last day for Combined Session Official close of the term and date for conferral of degrees.

August Term 2008

  • August 1, Friday: SMU-in-Taos: August Term Arrival and First Day of Classes, 2-6 p.m.
  • August 2, Saturday: SMU-in-Taos: Last day to enroll, add courses or to drop courses without grade record or tuition billing. Permission of Taos Program required for all enrollments.
  • August 16, Saturday: SMU-in-Taos: August Term Examinations
  • August 17, Sunday: SMU-in-Taos: August Term Departure

Major Religious Holidayss

August 2007-August 2008

Listing of religious holidays for use in requesting excused absences according to University Policy 1.9. For religious holidays not listed, the instructor or supervisor may contact the Office of the Chaplain.

Christian

Christmas December 25, 2007
Ash Wednesday February 6, 2008
Good Friday March 21, 2008
Easter Sunday March 23, 2008
Easter Sunday (Orthodox) April 27, 2008

Hindu

Janmashtami September 4, 2007
Dasera October 21, 2007
Diwali November 9, 2007

Jewish

All holidays begin at sundown before the first day noted and conclude at sundown on the day(s) noted.
Rosh Hashanah September 12-13, 2007
Yom Kippur September 22, 2007
Sukkot September 27-October 3, 2007
Hanukkah December 5-12, 2007
Pesach (Passover) April 20-26, 2008
Shavuot June 9, 2008

Muslim

Ramadan September 13-October 13, 2007
Eid al Fitr October 13, 2007
Eid al Adha December 20, 2007
Hijra - Islamic New Year January 10, 2008
Ashura January 19, 2008
Mawlid an Nabi March 20, 2008