Dedman College Interdisciplinary Institute

Established in the Spring of 2012 with a generous gift from the Dedman Family Foundation.

The times demand a new way of looking at the world. Globalization. Energy policy. The right to privacy. Understanding complex, real-world issues like these and many others today requires more than the expertise from a single discipline. Solutions to pressing problems and innovations that spur progress can only come from a perspective that is uniquely interdisciplinary.

The Dedman College Interdisciplinary Institute (DCII) is a response to this need for a new way of looking at the world, one that embraces the insights gleaned from the humanities, the sciences, the social sciences, business and the professions. The Institute brings together experts and activists from diverse fields to share and create knowledge.

The Institute sponsors Faculty Academic Programs, Undergraduate Research Programs, and Community Lectures. We invite you to join us for an upcoming event
The DCII reaches out through its programs to the rest of the University and to the local community, creating a culture of interdisciplinary inquiry and bridging the physical sciences and the humanities, the liberal arts and the professional schools, and academia and the broader community.

Please click on each program for more details and information.

Advanced Symposium

 Allman Family Lecture 

 Annual Fellows Seminar

 Director Visiting Scholar

 Godbey Lecture Series

 Graduate Fellowship Program

 Law and Statistics at SMU

 Scott Hawkins Lecture Fund

 Research Clusters

 Hamilton Undergraduate Research Scholars Program

 Robert Mayer Undergraduate Research Fellows

Interim Director

 Caroline Brettell 
Hyer Hall 307A

DCII Coordinator

Elizabeth Fielding
Heroy Science Hall 108                  


 Faculty Advisory Board

 Rhonda Blair  Meadows School of the Arts 
 Katherine Canales  Lyle School of Engineering
 Denise DuPont  Department of World Languages
 Katherine Engel  Department of Religious Studies
 Matthew Hornbach  Huffington Department of Earth Sciences
 James Kang Hoon Lee  Perkins School of Theology
 Santanu Roy  Department of Economics
 Ulrike Schultze  Cox School of Business
 Stephen Sekula  Department of Physics 
 Matthew Wilson  Department of Political Science

DCII Events


Protocol error


PO Box 750513
Dallas, TX 75275-0513



Follow DCII: