OCRL Staff

Reverend Lisa Garvin

Chaplain and Minister to the University

garvinl@smu.edu

Book An Appointment

Learn More About Lisa

Kaleb Loomis

Assistant Chaplain to the University

kloomis@smu.edu

Book An Appointment

Learn More About Kaleb

Rabbi Heidi Coretz

Assistant Chaplain for Jewish Life

hcoretz@smu.edu

Book An Appointment

Learn More About Heidi

Dr. Bilal Sert

Assistant Chaplain for Muslim Life

bsert@smu.edu

Book An Appointment

Learn More About Dr. Bilal

Dr. Matthew Wilson

Director
Center for Faith and Learning
Associate Professor of Political Science

jmwilson@smu.edu

Learn More About Dr. Wilson

Mission Statement

Southern Methodist University’s Office of the Chaplain and Religious Life seeks to create an inclusive community that celebrates intellectual curiosity about religion and spirituality, nourishes ethical decision-making, cultivates deep spiritual exploration and supports faithful living. We promote moral and ethical leadership development and provide pastoral care and welcome for SMU’s religiously diverse community. Grounded in the University’s Methodist heritage, the Office of the Chaplain and Religious Life enhances the educational mission of the university through religious and spiritual programming and services for all students, staff, faculty, and administration

Get In Touch With Us

Email: chaplain@smu.edu | Phone: (214) 768-4502

Office Hours:
Monday-Friday
8:30am-5:00pm 

Physical Address:
Hughes-Trigg Student Center
Suite 208
3140 Dyer Street
Dallas, TX 75205
Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 750282
Dallas, TX 75275