Simmons Graduate Council

Simmons Graduate Council

About Us

The Simmons School of Education and Human Development Graduate Council originated in 2011 by student representatives from each department within the Simmons School.

The Council administers funds for graduate student enrichment and professional development projects. The Council consists of one student from each graduate-level program at Simmons. 

Click here to learn about our Policies and Procedures to apply for funding.

Spring 2017 Funding Application

January 30, 2017:
Application Cycle Opens!
February 12, 2017:
Final Day to Submit Applications

Apply Now! 

2016-17 Council Meetings

Friday, August 26, 2016 – 9:00am - 10:30am

Friday, September 16, 2016 – 9:00 - 10:30am

Friday, October 21, 2016 – 9:00 - 10:30am

Friday, November 18, 2016 – 9:00 - 10:30am

Friday, January 27, 2017 - 9:00 - 10:30am

Friday, February 17, 2017 - 9:00-10:30 am

Friday, March 24, 2017 - 9:00-10:30am

Friday, April 21, 2017 - 9:00-10:30am

May 2017 - TBD

 

Election Dates for AY 2017-2018 for New Graduate Council Representatives

Nominations Open: January 30, 2017
Nominations Close: February 5, 2017
Voting begins: February 6, 2017
Voting closes: February 12, 2017

New members will attend the Graduate Council meeting on February 12, 2017.

Your 2016-2017 Representatives


Masters of Liberal Studies Bryan Prasifka bprasifka@mail.smu.edu President 
Masters of Bilingual Education open

M.S. Sports Management
Ashley Rote arote@smu.edu
Masters of Education
(Teaching & Learning)
open
 
M.Ed in Education Policy & Leadership Rekha Nair rekhan@smu.edu Internal Communications
Ph.D. Education Jillian Conry jconry@smu.edu Vice President
M.S. Counseling Ebonii Nelson
etnelson@mail.smu.edu Co-Treasurer
Dispute Resolution Betsey Attel  eattel@mail.smu.edu
External Communications
Ed.D. Education Policy & Leadership Laurie Gagne lgagne@smu.edu
Secretary
Doctor of Liberal Studies Gina Weber gweber@mail.smu.edu Co-Treasurer

 

Faculty Advisors: Dr. Sushmita Purkayastha (spurkayastha@smu.edu) and Dr. Angela Mitakidis (amitakidis@smu.edu)

If you have questions e-mail your council representative or you can email Graduate Council directly.