Medal of Freedom

The Tower Center bestows, as its highest honor, the Medal of Freedom, in recognition of extraordinary contributions to the advancement of democratic ideals and to the security, prosperity and welfare of humanity. Recipients have included former Secretary of State Colin L. Powell, U.S. Senator John McCain, former British Prime Minister Tony Blair and former Presidents George H.W. Bush and George W. Bush and former First Lady Laura Bush.




Medal of Freedom Recipients

James A. Baker, III
Senior statesman; former Secretary of State, 1989-1992



George W. Bush and Laura Welch Bush '68
President and First Lady of the United States, 2001-2009


Tony Blair
British Prime Minister, 1997-2007


John McCain
U.S. Senator, 1986-2018


General Tommy R. Franks (Ret.)
Commander-in-Chief, U.S. Central Command Operation Iraqi Freedom, 2000-2003


George H.W. Bush
President of the United States, 1989-1993



Margaret Thatcher
British Prime Minister, 1979-1990


General Colin L. Powell (Ret.)
Secretary of State, 2001-2005, and Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, 1989-1993


David McCullough
Pulitzer Prize Winning Author of Truman and John Adams


Michael Bloomberg
108th Mayor of New York City