Second Century Faculty Career Achievement Scholarship

The SMU Faculty Career Achievement Award established in 2015 recognizes one individual each year for remarkable contributions across the scope of a career by a tenured and currently serving SMU faculty member who has contributed to the teaching, scholarship, and service missions of the University.

The Selection Committee appointed annually by the Provost will consist of the Director of the Center for Teaching Excellence, the Dean of Graduate Studies, a current or former Faculty Senate President, one Ford Fellowship recipient, and one Altshuler Teaching Fellowship recipient. This committee will forward their recommendation to the Provost by March 1st and the award will be announced during the Founders Weekend Celebration at SMU.

In recognition of each recipient’s contributions to the academic and SMU communities, a scholarship for one entering first-year student will be named in honor of the faculty member. Learn more about the Faculty Career Achievement Second Century Scholarship here. 

2021 Thomas B. Fomby Professor of Economics
2020 Caroline B. Brettell Chair and Ruth Collins Altshuler Professor of Anthropology
2019 Charles E. Curran Elizabeth Scurlock University Professor of Human Values
2018 William J. Abraham Albert Cook Outler Professor of Wesley Studies
2017 Mary Vernon Professor of Art
2016 Ed Biehl Professor of Chemistry
2015 James K. Hopkins Professor of History