

NINETY-SIXTH ANNUAL OPENING CONVOCATION

SOUTHERN METHODIST UNIVERSITY

SUNDAY EVENING

THE TWENTY-SECOND OF AUGUST

TWO THOUSAND AND TEN

AT HALF PAST FIVE O'CLOCK

MCFARLIN MEMORIAL AUDITORIUM

CARILLON CONCERT AND CALL TO CONVOCATION

Lorn L. Howard, *Chief Marshal Emeritus*, Carilloner Fondren Science Tower, 5:00 p.m.

CONVOCATION PROGRAM

THE PROCESSIONAL The Imperial Brass

Rigaudon Andre Campra

Trumpet Voluntary Henry Purcell

INVOCATION Rev. Dr. Stephen W. Rankin

Chaplain and Minister to the University

WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS Paul W. Ludden

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

REMARKS Dr. Fredrick Leach

Representative of the SMU Board of Trustees

Linda Eads President of the Faculty Senate

Stephen Jake Torres

President of the Students' Association

SPECIAL MUSIC Meadows Convocation Chorus

Led by Pamela Elrod, Associate Professor of Music and

Director of Choral Activities

O Clap Your Hands John Rutter

GREETINGS AND PRESENTATION OF THE SPEAKER

R. Gerald Turner

President of the University

ADDRESS Learning in Unexpected Places Dr. William M. Tsutsui Dean of Dedman College of Humanities and Sciences

PRESENTATION OF THE ENTERING STUDENTS OF 2010

Dr. Stephanie Dupaul Dean ad interim of Undergraduate Admission

CHARGE TO THE ENTERING STUDENTS OF 2010

President R. Gerald Turner

UNIVERSITY HYMN

Meadows Convocation Chorus

Varsity

Oh we see the Varsity,
Varsity, Varsity,
As she towers o'er the hill
Over there.
And our hearts are filled with joy,
SMU, SMU,
Alma Mater, we'll be true
Forever!

BENEDICTION Rev. Dr. Stephen W. Rankin

THE RECESSIONAL The Imperial Brass

Trumpet Tune Henry Purcell

THE CONVOCATION PROCESSION

PLATFORM PARTY

John B. Attanasio, Dean of the Dedman School of Law José Antonio Bowen, Dean of Meadows School of the Arts David J. Chard, Dean of the Annette Caldwell Simmons School of Education and Human Development Brad E. Cheves, Vice President for Development and External Affairs Michael A. Condon, University Treasurer Stephanie Dupaul, Dean ad interim of Undergraduate Admission Linda Eads, President of the Faculty Senate and Associate Professor of Law Pamela Elrod, Associate Professor of Music and Director of Choral Activities William B. Lawrence, Dean of Perkins School of Theology Fredrick Leach, Member of the SMU Board of Trustees Paul W. Ludden, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Gillian M. McCombs, Dean and Director of Central University Libraries Albert W. Niemi, Jr., Dean of Edwin L. Cox School of Business Geoffrey C. Orsak, Dean of Bobby B. Lyle School of Engineering James E. Quick, Associate Vice President for Research and Dean of Graduate Studies Stephen W. Rankin, Chaplain and Minister to the University Stephen Jake Torres, President of the Students' Association William M. Tsutsui, Dean of Dedman College R. Gerald Turner, President of the University Gretchen C. Voight, President of the SMU Staff Association Paul J. Ward, Vice President for Legal Affairs and Government Relations, General Counsel, and Secretary Lisa Webb, Associate Vice President of Student Affairs and Dean of Students

GUILD OF MARSHALS

Lori S. White, Vice President for Student Affairs

Thomas B. Fomby, Chief Marshal
Bradley Kent Carter, Chief Marshal Emeritus
Wayne Woodward, Procession Marshal
Kenneth Hamilton, Assisting Procession Marshal
Joseph Kobylka, Ceremony Marshal

ASSISTING MARSHALS

Nathan Balke, Marshal for Entering Students
Christine E. Buchanan, Marshal for Transfer Students
Craig Flournoy, Marshal for Entering Students
Edward Fox, Marshal for Entering Students
Barbara Hill Moore, Administrators Marshal
Jeffery L. Kennington, Marshal for Entering Students
Monnie McGee, Faculty Marshal
Dennis M. Simon, Platform Party Marshal
Brian W. Stump, Phi Beta Kappa Marshal
Mary Vernon, Marshal for the Alumni Marshals
J. Matthew Wilson, Faculty Marshal

WELCOME TO SMU

his afternoon you have become a part of our community. The Rotunda Processional symbolizes this transformation. You were assembled by faculty. Your march was heralded by the SMU Trumpet Ensemble. You were led by Peruna, living symbol of the University. You marched through Dallas Hall, our oldest building. You were guided by alumni who are also parents of fellow entering students. These alumni represent the lifetime connection to SMU, a connection which you now share.

At the conclusion of Convocation we will lower the historic Ovilla Curtain to signify the completion of your initiation. Here is the story of that curtain. During the 1830's, the parents of Robert McFarlin, for whom this auditorium was named, lived in Ovilla, Texas. There was no Methodist church in the area; instead, the Methodists were served by a circuit rider. The McFarlins gave the circuit rider the land and money to build the Ovilla Methodist Church, pictured on the curtain, which Robert McFarlin attended.

Upon your graduation you will leave McFarlin Auditorium in the Rotunda Recessional, marching back through Dallas Hall, again led by alumni, alumni whose ranks you will join the next day following Commencement.



The Rotunda Passage, which students walk when they first enter SMU, and the Rotunda Recessional, their final walk taken the evening before May graduation, recognize the importance of Dallas Hall to our campus life. Dallas Hall is the oldest building on our campus. In 1915 when classes began, it housed all of the academic and administrative functions of the University. It is pictured on SMU's seal. And just as Dallas Hall is central to SMU, the rotunda is at the very center of Dallas Hall. Thomas Jefferson's rotunda at the University of Virginia stands alone. Our rotunda is the centerpiece of a magnificent three-story building that stands on the highest spot, or "hilltop," of the land given by the citizens of Dallas to attract SMU to this city. It is fitting that Dallas Hall is named in honor of the generosity and vision of those citizens. It is appropriate one becomes part of the SMU community by marching through it to Opening Convocation.