his afternoon you have become a part of our community. The Rotunda Processional symbolizes this transformation. You were assembled by faculty. Your march was heralded by the SMU Trumpet Ensemble. You were led by Peruna, living symbol of the University. You marched through Dallas Hall, our oldest building. You were guided by alumni who are also parents of fellow entering students. These alumni represent the lifetime connection to SMU, a connection which you now share.

At the conclusion of Convocation we will lower the historic Ovilla Curtain to signify the completion of your initiation. Here is the story of that curtain. During the 1830's, the parents of Robert McFarlin, for whom this auditorium was named, lived in Ovilla, Texas. There was no Methodist church in the area; instead, the Methodists were served by a circuit rider. The McFarlins gave the circuit rider the land and money to build the Ovilla Methodist Church, pictured on the curtain, which Robert McFarlin attended.

Upon your graduation you will leave McFarlin Auditorium in the Rotunda Recessional, marching back through Dallas Hall, again led by alumni, alumni whose ranks you will join the next day following Commencement.





NINETY-THIRD ANNUAL OPENING CONVOCATION

SOUTHERN METHODIST UNIVERSITY

WEDNESDAY EVENING

THE TWENTY-SECOND OF AUGUST

TWO THOUSAND AND SEVEN

AT FIVE O'CLOCK

MCFARLIN MEMORIAL AUDITORIUM

CARILLON CONCERT AND CALL TO CONVOCATION

Lorn L. Howard, Professor *Emeritus* of Electrical Engineering Fondren Science Tower, 4:00 p.m.

CONVOCATION PROGRAM

THE PROCESSIONAL The Imperial Brass

Canon in D Cyrus the Great Rigaudon Trumpet Voluntary

INVOCATION William M. Finnin, Jr. Chaplain to the University

WELCOME AND INTRODUCTIONS

Paul W. Ludden

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

REMARKS Richard Ware
Vice-Chair, Board of Trustees

Gary Evans President of the Faculty Senate

Pachelbel/arr.Spencer

Andre Campra Henry Purcell

K.L. King/arr. Frazier

Katherine M. Tullos President of the Students' Association

SPECIAL MUSIC The Imperial Brass

Simple Gifts Traditional/arr. Procter

GREETINGS AND PRESENTATION OF THE SPEAKER R. Gerald Turner

President of the University

ADDRESS Provost Paul W. Ludden

"I Am A Stranger Here Myself"

PRESENTATION OF THE ENTERING STUDENTS OF 2007

Ron Moss Dean of Undergraduate Admissions and

Executive Director of Enrollment Services

UNIVERSITY HYMN

Varsity

Oh we see the Varsity,
Varsity, Varsity,
As she towers o'er the hill
Over there.
And our hearts are filled with joy,
SMU, SMU,
Alma Mater, we'll be true
Forever!

BENEDICTION

Judith Henneberger Associate Chaplain to the University

THE RECESSIONAL

The Imperial Brass

Trumpet Tune

Henry Purcell

QUINTET

TRUMPET FANFARE:

Adam Miller, trumpet Mike Attaway
Tim Andersen, trumpet Bill Carmichael
Jason DeWater, horn Dan Evans
Simon Willats, trombone John Holt
Nathan Frazier, tuba Keith Jourdan

Oscar Passley Larry Spencer Jimmy Tullos

THE CONVOCATION PROCESSION

Bradley Kent Carter, Chief Marshal Thomas B. Fomby, Procession Marshal Kenneth Hamilton, Assisting Procession Marshal Joseph Kobylka, Marshal Precentor

GUILD OF MARSHALS

Jeffrey L. Kennington Thomas Osang William J. Pulte

THE PHI BETA KAPPA GREETERS ENTERING STUDENTS OF 2007

Jeffery L. Kennington Thomas Osang William J. Pulte

THE FLAG BEARERS

Thomas B. Fomby, Marshal

THE ALUMNI MARSHALS

Mary Vernon, Marshal

FACULTIES OF THE UNIVERSITY

Benjamin H. Johnson, Marshal Robert Van Kemper, Marshal Linda Brewster Stearns, Marshal

OFFICE OF THE PROVOST CORPORATE OFFICERS OF THE

UNIVERSITY

Barbara Hill Moore, Marshal

PLATFORM PARTY

Dennis M. Simon, Marshal

John B. Attanasio

Dean of the Dedman School of Law

José Antonio Bowen

Dean of Meadows School of the Arts

Caroline Brettell

Dean ad interim of Dedman College

David J. Chard

Dean of the $\,$ School of Education and Human $\,$

Development

Eric Michael Czechowski

Vocal Precentor

James Dunham

Associate Dean of the School of Engineering

William Dworaczyk

President of the Staff Association

Gary Evans

President of the Faculty Senate

William M. Finnin, Jr. Chaplain to the University

Judy Henneberger

Associate Chaplain to the University

William B. Lawrence

Dean of Perkins School of Theology

Paul W. Ludden

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

Gillian M. McCombs

Dean and Director of Central University Libraries

Ron Moss

Dean of Undergraduate Admissions and Executive

Director of Enrollment Services

Albert W. Niemi, Jr.

Dean of Edwin L. Cox School of Business

James E. Quick

Dean of Research and Graduate Studies and Associate

Vice President for Research

Katherine M. Tullos

President of the Students' Association

R. Gerald Turner

President of the University

Richard Ware

Trustee of the University