Frank Pitts Lecture Series

The Frank Pitts Lecture Series was launched in 2002 by Southern Methodist University. Bill Custard, Linda Pitts Custard and Dallas oilman and philanthropist Cary Maguire established the series for the purpose of educating members of the academic community as well as the general public on important energy issues.   In addition to a presentation by a distinguished speaker, a group of students receiving Pitts Scholarships are recognized at the event.  Pitts Scholarships are awarded to graduate and undergraduate students who are interested in pursuing careers in energy related functions.  The lecture series honors legendary oilman L. Frank Pitts, founder of Pitts Oil Company of Dallas. Upon his death in 2009 at 98 years of age, Pitts left a legacy of entrepreneurship, leadership and innovation in the energy industry.  Past lecturers include Luke Corbett, T. Boone Pickens, Renato Bertani, Jim Hackett, Robert Bryce, Rusty Braziel, and Dr Steven E Koonin.