Pioneer Award

Pioneer Award
Photo: PHOTO CREDIT: The Drake Well Museum, Pennsylvania Historical And Museum Commission

The Maguire Energy Institute periodically awards distinguished individuals who have served as some of the industry’s most esteemed history makers and whose leadership has made a positive impact on the communities in which they live and their companies operate. When awarded, these honors are given at the annual L. Frank Pitts Energy Leadership Award Event. Recipients must have a legacy of entrepreneurship, ethical leadership and innovation in the energy industry, with particular emphasis on pioneering leadership in their field.

Previous recipients include former Halliburton Chairman and CEO Jack Harbin, former Governor, Deputy Secretary of Defense and Sedco CEO Bill Clements, Texas Oil and Gas Founder Louis Beecherl, Dallas oilman Ed Cox, former EOG Chairman and CEO Forrest Hoglund, and BP Capital Founder T. Boone Pickens.

This year’s leadership awarded will be presented to Maguire Oil Founder and Chairman Cary Maguire and Lyco Energy Founder Bobby B Lyle . Event information is below:

L. Frank Pitts Energy Leadership Award Event
April 9, 2019
Martha Proctor Mack Ballroom
Southern Methodist University

For sponsorship information, contact Marsha Faram at

Proceeds go to scholarships for students studying energy at the SMU Cox School of Business and the programs of the Maguire Energy Institute.