L. Frank Pitts Energy Leadership Award

The L. Frank Pitts Energy Leadership Award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and innovation in the field of energy.  The Award is given annually at an event to honor the person selected and to recognize Dallas wildcatter Frank Pitts’ legacy of entrepreneurship, ethical leadership and innovation in the energy industry.  The following criteria are used in choosing recipients for this distinguished award:

  • Recipients will be leaders in a business, government, or not-for profit organizations related to the field of energy.
  • Individuals selected to receive the Award will have exhibited outstanding leadership and championed innovation in the broad field of energy, including, but not limited to innovation in the areas of energy exploration, discovery and production, conventional and enhanced recovery, alternative and sustainable energy sources, oil and gas pipeline transmission and refining, technology, management practices, industry advocacy, and energy education.

Individuals selected to receive the Award must have demonstrated business and personal conduct that reflects the highest level of integrity and moral and ethical standards.

Previous recipients include Hunt Oil CEO Ray L. Hunt, Encap Founder David B. Miller, then Chairman and CEO of Devon J. Larry Nichols, then EOG CEO Mark Papa, then Pioneer Natural Resources Chairman and CEO Scott D. Sheffield, then ExxonMobil Chairman and CEO Rex W. Tillerson, Chief Oil Founder and CEO Trevor Rees-Jones, and then Plains All America Pipeline CEO Greg Armstrong.

This year’s leadership awarded will be presented to Concho Resources Chairman and CEO Tim Leach.  Event information is below:

L. Frank Pitts Energy Leadership Award

April 9, 2019

Martha Proctor Mack Ballroom

Southern Methodist University

For sponsorship information, contact Marsha Faram at mfaram@smu.edu

Proceeds go to scholarships for students studying energy at the SMU Cox School of Business and the programs of the Maguire Energy Institute.