Give Now

SMU Student Handbook

Academic Support Services

University Advising Center

Director      
Ellen Richmond erichmond@smu.edu 408M Blanton 8-2116
Administrative Assistant      
Melissa Dale
mdale@smu.edu 408 Blanton 8-2291

smu.edu/Dedman/StudentResources/UniversityAdvisingCenter

Academic advisors assist students in planning course schedules, and in focusing on long-range planning and curricular design to help achieve multiple goals. Students may arrange individual advising appointments and advisors welcome drop-in visits.

Academic Advisors

Dr. Scott Bartlett
sbartlet@smu.edu 408H Blanton
8-1526
Josh Beaty
jbeaty@smu.edu 408Q Blanton 8-4009
Kate Bell-Miller
kebell@smu.edu 408N Blanton
8-4194
Dr. Susan Harris (UHP) sharris@smu.edu 408C Blanton
8-2305
Janet Hopkins jhopkins@smu.edu 408K Blanton 8-1272
Beth McConville
mbcconville@smu.edu 408D Blanton 8-2815
Sheumona Miller swmiller@smu.edu 408P Blanton 8-4143
Dee O'Banner obanner@smu.edu 408E Blanton  8-1516 
Dania Ortiz
daniao@smu.edu
408B Blanton
8-2625
Jeanene Renfro jeanene@smu.edu  408J Blanton
8-2103
Daphne Shipowitz
dshipowitz@smu.edu
408F Blanton
8-1970 
Prisna Virasin
pvirasin@smu.edu 408L Blanton 8-4959

Pre-Law Services

Janet Hopkins jhopkins@smu.edu 408K Blanton 8-1272

Office of Pre-Health Advising

Director
     
Pamela McNulty
pmcnulty@smu.edu
135 Dedman Life Sci
8-4604
Administrative Asst.
     
Gwen LaCroix
glacroix@smu.edu 135 Dedman Life Sci
8-4604

Lyle School of Engineering
Office of Undergraduate Advising and Student Records

Director      
Dr. LaDonna Moore lrmoore@smu.edu 253 Caruth Hall
8-1732
Administrative Asst.
     
Markus Harris
maharris@smu.edu 253 Caruth Hall
8-1457
Academic Advisors
     
Misti Compton
mcompton@smu.edu 253 Caruth Hall
8-3415
Katelyn Godsey katelyng@smu.edu 253 Caruth Hall
8-2189


SMU STAR Program

The Student Technology Assistance in Residence (STAR) program recruits and trains students to become proficient in the use of technology to support the most common needs of faculty using technology in their course.

smu.edu/stars/
Fondren Library East 108
Ph: (214) 768-3867



Office of Information Technology

Chief Information Officer: Michael H. Hites
smu.edu/oit
Fondren Library West
Help Desk: (214) 768-4357



The Altshuler Learning Enhancement Center (A-LEC)

Director: Sue Bierman, Ph.D.
smu.edu/alec/
202 Loyd Center
Student Appointments: (214) 768-3648
Business Office: (214) 768-6725

The A-LEC offers many different opportunities for students to maximize their learning effectiveness. Students may register for HDEV 1110: Reading and Learning Strategies, a class devoted to developing students' reading rate, comprehension, and learning strategies. The A-LEC provides free drop-in workshops to allow students to improve their study skills and tutoring is provided by SMU undergraduate students for most first- and second-year courses. For students who want help with a problem in studying a particular text or preparing for a test, A-LEC Learning Specialists offer individual appointments.

Writing Center

Director: Ann Shattles
smu.edu/Provost/ALEC/WritingCenter
202 Loyd Center
Phone: (214) 768-3648

The Writing Center, staffed by English department faculty, provides students with assistance in the process of developing and drafting papers for SMU courses. The Writing Center faculty will not edit or proofread work, but they will answer any specific questions the student may have about his or her draft. Appointments are necessary in order to reserve a half-hour tutorial and can be made through Canvas. Drop-in lab assistance is also available.

Disability Accommodations & Success Strategies (DASS)

smu.edu/alec/dass
202 Loyd Center
Phone: (214) 768-1470
 
   
Sr. Associate Director: Alexa Taylor Ph: (214) 768-1918

Disability Acccommodations Coordinators:

                                                  Michelle Bufkin

Ph: (214) 768-1232
                                                Karen Turbeville
Ph: (214) 768-4557


Learning Disabilities Specialist: David Tylicki Ph: (214) 768-4773
Administrative Coordinator: Candy Brown Ph: (214) 768-1470

DASS is the primary contact for all SMU students with disabilities. This office assist students with disabilities to effectively utilize resources they may need and helps them work with professors and staff in obtaining appropriate and reasonable accommodations.

 

Last revision - 17 July 2018