Office of the Chaplain and Religious Life

Campus Ministries

Hillel at SMU

Hillel at SMU is your Jewish home away from home, serving as the center of Jewish life on campus for approximately 300 Jewish students. By hosting a wide variety of Jewish social, cultural, educational, Shabbat and holiday programs, we bring together Mustangs for friendship, meaning and fun. We are a warm, and inclusive group so join us and attend programs as often as you are able. Please become a member of our Facebook group, Hillel at SMU, to be invited to all upcoming events. Thanks!

 

Contacts:

Rabbi Heidi Coretz, Director

hcoretz@smu.edu

214-280-9005

Co-Presidents:

Bibiana Schindler - bschindler@smu.edu

Eliana Abraham - emabraham@smu.edu



Hillel at SMU

Fall 2019 Tentative Schedule

 

Saturday, August 17 – WE Summer Swim Shabbat Dinner + Havdallah

Saturday, August 24 – Night at the Club

Wednesday, August 28 – Tacolandia Social

 

Thursday, September 5 – Pokey O’s Social

Tuesday, September 10 – Board Meeting Dinner

Friday, September 15 – Welcome Back Shabbat Picnic

Wednesday, September 18 – Deadline to reserve FREE Student High Holy Day Tickets

Thursday, September 19 - Program: BDS Assault on Academic Freedom

Friday, September 20 – WE Shabbat + Apples and Honey

Wednesday, September 25 – Apples and Honey Social/High Holy Ticket Distribution

Sunday, September 29 – Erev Rosh Hashanah at Local Synagogues

September 30 – October 1 – Rosh Hashanah at Local Synagogues

 

Sunday, October 6 – Family Weekend Bagel Brunch

Tuesday, October 8 – Kol Nidrei Services at Local Synagogues

Wednesday, October 9 - Yom Kippur Services at Local Synagogues

October 12- October 15 – Fall Break

Wednesday, October 16 – Sushi in the Sukkah

Sunday, October 20 - Simchat Torah Services at Local Synagogues

Friday, October 25 – Shabbat Dinner

Tuesday, October 29 – Coffee and Conversation

Wednesday, October 30 – Board Meeting Dinner

 

Tuesday, November 5 - ShalOM Yoga

November 8 – 10 – Homecoming Weekend

Tuesday, November 12 – ShalOM Yoga

Wednesday, November 13 – Levine Lecture: Dr. Daniel Cohen “Good Jews: Philosemitism in Post-Holocaust Europe”

Thursday, November 14 – American Creed – Movie and Panel Discussion

Friday, November 15 – WE Shabbat + ART – Nasher

Tuesday, November 19 - ShalOM Yoga

Friday, November 22 – Shabbat Dinner

November 27 – December 1 – Thanksgiving Break

 

Wednesday, December 4 – Board Meeting Dinner

Friday, December 6 – WE Shabbat

Sunday, December 8 – Coffee and Donuts Study Break Social

December 12-18 – Finals

Saturday, December 21 – Commencement

 

*WE programming for 21 and older