Give Now

Stover Memorial Award


The Elizabeth Matchett Stover Memorial Award

The Elizabeth Matchett Stover Memorial Award was established in 1978 by Jerry S. Stover of Dallas in memory of his mother, who was for many years a key member of the Southwest Review staff. The awards consist of $300 cash prizes and are given to the authors of the best poems published in the magazine during the preceding year.


Jack Butler

2017 Elizabeth Matchett Stover Award
"Lost Road Blues"
(Volume 102, nos. 3-4)

Jack Butler has published ten books in nineteen editions worldwide, including five novels, three collections of poetry, a cookbook, and a collection of short fiction; has published dozens of individual works in The New Yorker, The Atlantic, Poetry, Poetry Northwest, New Orleans Review, The New York Times Book Review, and The Los Angeles Times, as well as many in other journals; has had three British editions, and one novel translated to Japanese and published in Japan. Mud Flat Press is preparing to bring out reprints of two of his earlier books, and a new collection of poetry is in the works. He retired as a full professor of Creative Writing at the College of Santa Fe in 2004.

Rachel Rinehart

2017 Elizabeth Matchett Stover Award
"Christmas Eve, 1932"
(Volume 102, nos. 3-4)

Rachel Rinehart grew up in Chuckery, Ohio, and teaches at Marshall University in Huntington, West Virginia. Her poems have appeared in The Georgia Review, New Ohio Review, Prairie Schooner, Mid-American Review, and Colorado Review. Her poetry collection, The Church in the Plains, was selected by Peter Everwine as the winner of the 2016 Philip Levine Poetry Prize and will be published by Anhinga Press.