Give Now

Stover Memorial Award


The Elizabeth Matchett Stover Memorial Award

The Elizabeth Matchett Stover Memorial Award was established in 1978 by Jerry S. Stover of Dallas in memory of his mother, who was for many years a key member of the Southwest Review staff. The awards consist of $300 cash prizes and are given to the authors of the best poems published in the magazine during the preceding year.


John Hennessy

2016 Elizabeth Matchett Stover Award
"No Clock in the Forest"
(Volume 101, number 1)

John Hennessy is the author of two collections, Coney Island Pilgrims and Bridge and Tunnel. His poem "Green Man, Blue Pill," first published in Southwest Review, was reprinted in Best American Poetry 2013. He teaches at the University of Massachusetts and lives in Amherst.

David Livewell

2016 Elizabeth Matchett Stover Award
"The Made Bed" and "His Work Clothes"
(Volume 101, number 3)

David Livewell won the 2012 T. S. Eliot Poetry Prize for his book Shackamaxon (Truman State University Press). He lives with his family outside his hometown of Philadelphia and is at work on a second collection.

Mary Jo Salter

2016 Elizabeth Matchett Stover Award
"An Afghan Carpet" and "Today's Specials"
(Volume 101, number 4)

Mary Jo Salter's books of poems, all published by Knopf, include A Phone Call to the Future: Selected Poems (2008), Nothing by Design (2013), and The Surveyors, which will appear in 2017. She is a co-editor of The Norton Anthology of Poetry and is Krieger-Eisenhower Professor in The Writing Seminars at Johns Hopkins University. She lives in Baltimore.

Eleanor Stanford

2016 Elizabeth Matchett Stover Award
"Anorexic Sonnet"
(Volume 101, number 3)

Eleanor Stanford is the author of two collections of poetry, Bartram's Garden and The Book of Sleep, both from Carnegie Mellon University Press. Her poems and essays have appeared in Poetry, Ploughshares, The Iowa Review, and others. She is a 2014/2016 Fulbright fellow to Brazil, where she is researching and writing about traditional midwifery.