Give Now

Stover Memorial Award


The Elizabeth Matchett Stover Memorial Award

The Elizabeth Matchett Stover Memorial Award was established in 1978 by Jerry S. Stover of Dallas in memory of his mother, who was for many years a key member of the Southwest Review staff. The award consists of a $300 cash prize and is given to the author of the best poem published in the magazine during the preceding year.


Denise Duhamel

2015 Elizabeth Matchett Stover Award
"At Publix: In the Tradition of Poets' Reflections on Shopping"
(Volume 100, number 1)

Denise Duhamel's most recent book of poetry, Blowout (University of Pittsburgh Press, 2013), was a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award. Her other books include Ka-Ching! (Pittsburgh, 2009), Two and Two (Pittsburgh, 2005), and Queen for a Day: Selected and New Poems (Pittsburgh, 2001). The guest editor for The Best American Poetry 2013, she teaches at Florida International University in Miami.

Brittany Perham

2015 Elizabeth Matchett Stover Award
"Double Portrait"
(Volume 100, number 2)

Brittany Perham is a Jones Lecturer at Stanford University, where she was a Wallace Stegner Fellow. Her latest collection of poems, The Curiosities, was published in 2012. She lives in San Francisco.