Give Now

Stover Memorial Award


The Elizabeth Matchett Stover Memorial Award

The Elizabeth Matchett Stover Memorial Award was established in 1978 by Jerry S. Stover of Dallas in memory of his mother, who was for many years a key member of the Southwest Review staff. The award consists of a $300 cash prize and is given to the author of the best poem published in the magazine during the preceding year.


David Ebenbach

2014 Elizabeth Matchett Stover Award
"Your Seat Cushion Is Also a Flotation Device"
(Volume 99, number 4)

David Ebenbach is the author of Autogeography, a chapbook of poetry (Finishing Line Press), two collections of short stories--Between Camelots (University of Pittsburgh Press), which won the Drue Heinz Literature Prize and the GLCA New Writer's Award, and Into the Wilderness (Washington Writers' Publishing House), which won the WWPH Fiction Prize--as well as The Artist's Torah (Cascade Books), a non-fiction guide to the creative process. Ebenbach has a PhD in Psychology from the University of Wisconsin-Madison and an MFA in Writing from the Vermont College of Fine Arts, and he teaches creative writing at Georgetown University.

Donald Platt

2014 Elizabeth Matchett Stover Award
"The Main Event"
(Volume 99, number 3)

Donald Platt's fourth book of poems, Dirt Angels, was published in 2009 by New Issues Press, and his fifth, Tornadoesque, is forthcoming from CavanKerry Press in 2016. A professor of English at Purdue University, he has been awarded two Individual Artist's Fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and three Pushcart Prizes. His poems have recently appeared or are forthcoming in Alaska Quarterly Review, Ecotone, Shenandoah, Gulf Coast, Notre Dame Review, The Journal, Passages North, Green Mountains Review, Western Humanities Review, Seneca Review, Prairie Schooner, and Southern Review.