Give Now

Stover Memorial Award


The 2011 Stover Memorial Award Winners

The Elizabeth Matchett Stover Memorial Award was established in 1978 by Jerry S. Stover of Dallas in memory of his mother, who was for many years a key member of the Southwest Review staff. The award consists of a $300 cash prize and is given to the author of the best poem published in the magazine during the preceding year.

Dave Smith

2011 Elizabeth Matchett Stover Award
"Hawkes on Wires" and "Sawmill"
(Volume 96, number 3)

Dave Smith’s collection of poems, Hawks on Wires, will appear from Louisiana State University Press in Fall 2011. His most recent books are Afield: Writers on Bird Dogs (Skyhorse, 2010); Little Boats, Unsalvaged (lsu, 2006); and The Wick of Memory: New and Selected Poems 1970-2000 (lsu, 2000). He is the Elliot Coleman Professor of Poetry and Chairman of The Writing Seminars at Johns Hopkins University.

Sarah Strong

2011 Elizabeth Matchett Stover Award
(Volume 96, number 4)

Sarah Pemberton Strong’s poems have appeared in The Southern Review, Spoon River Poetry Review, RATTLE, The Sun, and elsewhere. She is also the author of two novels, Burning the Sea (Alyson, 2002) and The Fainting Room (just completed). She lives in Hamden, Connecticut, where she works as a plumber.