Give Now

Stover Memorial Award


The 2010 Stover Memorial Award Winners

The Elizabeth Matchett Stover Memorial Award was established in 1978 by Jerry S. Stover of Dallas in memory of his mother, who was for many years a key member of the Southwest Review staff. The award consists of a $300 cash prize and is given to the author of the best poem published in the magazine during the preceding year.

Martha Serpas

2010 Elizabeth Matchett Stover Award
(Volume 95, number 4)

Martha Serpas's newest collection is The Dirty Side of the Storm (W. W. Norton). Her most recent poems appear in The New Yorker and Christianity and Literature. Other work is included in Bearing the Mystery: Twenty Years of Image and in the Library of America’s American Religious Poems. A part-time hospital trauma chaplain, she teaches creative writing at the University of Houston.

Jackie Osherow

2010 Elizabeth Matchett Stover Award
"At Peter Behren's House (Matildenhohe, Darmstadt)"
(Volume 95, number 4)

Jackie Osherow's sixth collection of poems, Whitehorn, is forthcoming from lsu Press. She’s been awarded fellowships by the John Simon Guggenheim Foundation, the nea, the Ingram Merrill Foundation, and the Witter Bynner Prize from the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters. She’s Distinguished Professor of English at the University of Utah.