Give Now

McGinnis-Ritchie Award


The McGinnis-Ritchie Award


Robert F. Ritchie, who died in 1997, was a long-time and generous supporter of the Southwest Review. In 1960 he established the John H. McGinnis Memorial Award in honor the man who edited the Review from 1927 to 1943. With a bequest in his will, Mr. Ritchie enabled us to maintain the tradition of his generosity. Since 1998, the McGinnis-Ritchie Award has been given annually to the best works of fiction and nonfiction published during the previous year in these pages. The awards consist of cash prizes of $500.


Thomas Barnes

2016 McGinnis-Ritchie Award for Fiction
"The Skydiver"
(Volume 101, number 2)


Thomas Barnes is a graduate of the University of Massachusetts, Amherst. He lives in Boston, Massachusetts, where he works as a bicycle messenger.

Amber Caron

2016 McGinnis-Ritchie Award for Fiction
"The Handler"
(Volume 101, number 3)

Amber Caron's work has appeared or is forthcoming in Southwest Review, Kenyon Review Online, The Greensboro Review, and the Ploughshares blog. She has an MFA from the Bennington Writing Seminars, where she received the 2016 fiction prize. In 2017 she was awarded a grant from the Elizabeth George Foundation.

Gary Joshua Garrison

2016 McGinnis-Ritchie Award for Fiction
(Volume 101, number 2)

Gary Joshua Garrison is a prose editor for Hayden's Ferry Review. He teaches and lives in Arizona with his wife, their two cats, and several wilting houseplants.

Doug Ramspeck

2016 McGinnis-Ritchie Award for Fiction
(Volume 101, number 1)

Doug Ramspeck is the author of four poetry books, including Original Bodies (2014), published by Southern Indiana Review Press, and winner of the Michael Waters Poetry Prize. Individual poems have appeared in journals that include The Kenyon Review, Slate, The Southern Review, and The Georgia Review. Stories have appeared in Iowa Review, Green Mountains Review, Gargoyle, and others.

Irina A. Dumitrescu

2016 McGinnis-Ritchie Award for Nonfiction, Essay
"The Things We Take, The Things We Leave Behind"
(Volume 101, number 1)

Irina A. Dumitrescu teaches medieval literature at the University of Bonn. She is co-editor of Rumba Under Fire: The Arts of Survival from West Point to Delhi, a collection of reflections on the humanities in times of crisis, to be published by Punctum Books. Her writing has appeared in The Yale Review, Washington Post, Southwest Review, Petits Propos Culinaires, and The Manifest-Station. She blogs about dance at and about culinary disasters at

Floyd Skloot

2016 McGinnis-Ritchie Award for Nonfiction, Essay
"La Serenata"
(Volume 101, number 4)

Floyd Skloot's most recent books include the forthcoming novel The Phantom of Thomas Hardy (University of Wisconsin Press, 2016), the poetry collection Approaching Winter (LSU Press, 2015), and the memoir Revertigo (University of Wisconsin Press, 2014). Previous winner of the McGinnis-Ritchie Prize from Southwest Review, Skloot has also won three Pushcart Prizes and the PEN Center USA Literary Award in Creative Nonfiction. He lives in Portland, Oregon.