Give Now

McGinnis-Ritchie Award


The 2013 McGinnis-Ritchie Award


Robert F. Ritchie, who died in 1997, was a long-time and generous supporter of the Southwest Review. In 1960 he established the John H. McGinnis Memorial Award to honor the man who edited the Southwest Review from 1927 to 1943. With a bequest in his will, Mr. Ritchie enabled us to maintain the tradition of his generosity. Since 1998, the McGinnis-Ritchie Award has been given annually to the best works of fiction and nonfiction published during the previous year in these pages. The awards consist of cash prizes of $500.


Ashlee Adams Crews

2013 McGinnis-Ritchie Award for Fiction
"Church Time"
(Volume 98, number 1)

Ashlee Adams Crews grew up in middle Georgia and now lives in Durham, North Carolina with her husband and daughter. “Church Time” won the 2011 James Hurst Prize for Fiction, judged by Ron Rash at North Carolina State University. Her stories have appeared in McSweeney's, the Pushcart Prize Series, Shenandoah, The Southern Review, and Prairie Schooner, and her story collection, “Called Out,” was a 2012 finalist for The Flannery O’Connor Award.

Emily Fridlund

2013 McGinnis-Ritchie Award for Fiction
"History of Wolves"
(Volume 98, number 2)

Emily Fridlund's fiction has appeared in Boston Review, New Orleans Review, Sou’wester, and many other journals. She is currently an Endowed Fellow at the University of Southern California, where she is pursuing her Ph.D. “History of Wolves” is the first chapter of her novel by the same name.

Jonathan Fink

2013 McGinnis-Ritchie Award for Nonfiction, Essay
"'The Holy Land Experience"
(Volume 98, number 3)

Jonathan Fink is an associate professor and the director of Creative Writing at University of West Florida, where he also edits Panhandler Magazine ( He has received fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Florida Division of Cultural Affairs, and Emory University, among other institutions. His poems and essays have appeared or are forthcoming in Poetry, New England Review, TriQuarterly, Virginia Quarterly Review, The Southern Review, Southwest Review, and Witness, among other journals.

Wyn Wachhorst

2013 McGinnis-Ritchie Award for Nonfiction, Essay
"Come Back, Shane!: The National Nostalgia"
(Volume 98, number 1)

Wyn Wachhorst is author of Thomas Alva Edison: An American Myth (mit Press) and The Dream of Spaceflight: Essays on the Near Edge of Infinity (Basic Books). He has been speech writer for Apollo astronaut Buzz Aldrin. His work has also appeared in many periodicals, including The Yale Review, The Virginia Quarterly Review, The Massachusetts Review, San Francisco magazine, Mechanical Engineering, Isis, The Explorers Journal, and in anthologies.