Give Now

McGinnis Ritchie Award


The 2011 McGinnis Ritchie Award Winners

Robert F. Ritchie, who died in 1997, was a long-time and generous supporter of the Southwest Review. In 1960 he established the John H. McGinnis Memorial Award to honor the man who edited the Southwest Review from 1927 to 1943. With a bequest in his will, Mr. Ritchie enabled us to maintain the tradition of his generosity. Since 1998, the McGinnis-Ritchie Award has been given annually to the best works of fiction and nonfiction published during the previous year in these pages. The awards consist of cash prizes of $500.

Alix Christie

2011 McGinnis-Ritchie Award for Fiction
"To Ground"
(Volume 96, number 1)

Alix Christie’s articles and commentary have appeared in the Washington Post, International Herald Tribune, The Economist, The Guardian, and the San Francisco Chronicle, among other publications. Her first novel, Hard News, was a semi-finalist in the 2008 Amazon Breakthrough Novel contest. Her stories have appeared in Other Voices and For Sale, Baby Shoes, Never Worn: Six Words, Six Stories, Six Writers, a limited edition from Foolscap Press.

Jo Lloyd

2011 McGinnis-Ritchie Award for Fiction
"Tarnished Sorry Open"
(Volume 96, number 4)

Jo Lloyd was brought up in South Wales and now lives in Oxford. In 2009 she won the Asham Short Story Award and the Willesden Herald International Short Story Prize. Her stories have appeared in Waving at the Gardener (Bloomsbury), New Short Stories 3 (Pretend Genius), Cut to the Bias (Honno), Riptide, and elsewhere.

Christopher Bakken

2011 McGinnis-Ritchie Award for Nonfiction, Essay
"'Octopus Ear"
(Volume 96, number 3)

Christopher Bakken is the author of two books of poetry, Goat Funeral (2006) and After Greece (2001). He is also co-translator of The Lions’ Gate: Selected Poems of Titos Patrikios. "Octopus Ear" is a chapter from Honey, Olives, Octopus, a collection of essays set in Greece.

Kathryn Starbuck

2011 McGinnis-Ritchie Award for Nonfiction, Essay
"Return to Sender"
(Volume 96, number 2)

Kathryn Starbuck is the author of Griefmania, a book of poems. Her poems appear in The Best American Poetry 2008, Ploughshares, Poetry, The New Republic, The New Yorker, AGNI, Harvard Review, and elsewhere. This is her second essay in Southwest Review; others are in Gettysburg Review and The Sewanee Review.