2014 Conference Summary

Janet Dodd, M.Ed. Instructional Specialist, Elementary Mathematics, Pasadena ISD

Janet Dodd

Instructional Specialist, Elementary Mathematics, Pasadena ISD
President, Texas Association of Supervisors of Mathematics

Janet Dodd currently serves as the District Elementary Mathematics Instructional Specialist for Pasadena ISD where her responsibilities include managing the district’s curriculum and assessment program as well as professional development to support the implementation of the TEKS. Prior to Pasadena ISD, Janet served as an Education Specialist with the Region 4 Education Service Center in Houston where she co-authored numerous K-5 mathematics instructional resources published by Region 4 ESC and provided instructional coaching and curriculum development support to numerous school districts. She was a contributing author and master trainer for the ESTAR Grades K-5 Introduction (2010), MSTAR Grades 5-8 Academies (2010), ESTAR Grades K-2 and 3-4 Academies (2011), and MTC Grades 3-5 Professional Development (2007).

Janet currently serves as the President of the Texas Association of Supervisors of Mathematics, a 400+ member organization focused on promoting effectiveness in supervision, coordination, and teaching of mathematics, especially in the elementary and secondary fields. Her responsibilities include facilitating the fall, spring, and summer business meetings and the affairs of the twelve-member Executive Board. Janet served as the Vice-President (Elementary) of the Texas Council of Teachers of Mathematics (TCTM) from 2007-2011 and as the CAMT Program Committee Chair in 2006. She also served as a member of the CAMT Program Committee for the 2009, 2008, and 2007 conferences. She has presented multiple sessions at CAMT each year from 2003-2013 and has also presented at the NCTM annual conference (2007), NCTM regional conferences (2007, 2008), and NCSM annual conferences (2007, 2008, 2014). Janet has served on numerous state-level committees including the MTA, MTC, and MTR advisory committees and is a certified TEXTEAMS leader for “Rethinking Elementary Mathematics”. She is a member of NCSM, TASM, NCTM, TCTM, TEPSA, and ASCD.