The Writer's Path at SMU

Contact Us

The Writer's Path at SMU

The Writer's Path at SMU, a noncredit writing program, created by professional writers and taught by published and produced writers, offers detailed and specific classes for Dallas/Fort Worth area adults who want to write, perfect their writing and seek publication. Directed by author J. Suzanne Frank, with authors Kay Honeyman, Carmen Goldthwaite, and other authors, the program offers instruction in long and short fiction, memoir, and nonfiction. Periodic courses include grammar, creativity, and storytelling for the stage.

Every other year the program's qualified students, each with a completed project, travel to New York to meet with agents and editors for one-on-one critiques.

In addition to scheduled classes, The Writer's Path at SMU offers manuscript evaluation and private tutorials in fiction and non-fiction. We also offer classes in Taos, and specialty workshops on the Dallas campus.

Alum who have published traditionally:

Shilpi Somaya Gowda: (NY '07) international and national bestseller; accolades and awards;

Daniel J. Hale: (NY '99) award-winning author; periodic instructor; past EVP of Mystery Writers of America

Harry Hunsicker: multi-published author; periodic instructor; past EVP of MWA

Kay Honeyman: (NY '09) YA author; current instructor

Amanda Arista: (NY '09) multi-published e-book author; current instructor

Amanda E. Alvarez: (NY '09) e-book/print author;

Don Goldman: (NY '98) small press

Caroline Rose Hunt: small press

Ron Roy: small press

Kathleen M. Rodgers: award-winning author, small press

Kalena Cook: (NY '05) award-winning nonfiction author, university press

J.Suzanne Frank: (NY '95) multi-published international bestselling author; book club select; small press

Tricia Skinner: author, small press

Douglas E. Neel: nonfiction author, small press

Keith Goodnight: (NY '07) author, current instructor

Kate Defrise: (NY '09) author

Rachel Goodman: author; periodic instructor

Lauren Allbright (NY '13) debut author (2017)

Alexia Gordon (NY '15) debut author 2016

Melanie Sumrow (NY '11) debut author 2018

Call 214-SMU-WRITE or email