Disability Accommodations and Success Strategies

DASS Staff Contact

Meet the DASS team!

 

Alexa Taylor, MS, LPC-S

DASS Lead
Director, Disability Accommodations and Success Strategies

214.768.1918
alexat@smu.edu

Michelle Bufkin, MPA, CALT, QI

Senior Accommodations Coordinator, primarily LD/ADHD 

214.768.1232
mbufkin@smu.edu

Tomasine Sam, MEd

Accommodations Coordinator, primarily psychiatric conditions

214.768.2075
tomasines@smu.edu

Karen Turbeville, MEd

Accommodations Coordinator, primarily physical and medical conditions, including vision, hearing, and mobility

214.768.4557
kturbeville@smu.edu

David Tylicki, MS

Senior Learning Specialist

214.768.4773
dtylicki@smu.edu

Candy Brown

Administrative Assistant

214.768.1470
dass@smu.edu

Chandler Gobin, LMSW

Testing Administrator

214.768.1277
cgobin@smu.edu

Location: 
DASS is located in the Altshuler Learning Enhancement Center (A-LEC) on the 2nd floor of the Loyd All-Sports Center in Suite 202. You can find a map of the area here.

For general information:
Email dass@smu.edu, or call 214-768-1470 to be directed to the appropriate staff member.

Submitting disability-related medical or other supporting documentation:
We strongly encourage you to submit any medical or other supporting documentation electronically via DASS Link rather than by mail. If you're a student requesting accommodations for the first time at SMU, you can attach electronic copies of your documents when you fill out the Accommodation Request Form. If you've already requested or received accommodations through DASS, follow the DASS Link instructions to upload new documents.

For fax or mailing purposes other than submitting disability-related documentation:

Fax (please include a cover-sheet): 

214-768-1255

Mail:

Attn: DASS
SMU Altshuler Learning Enhancement Center
PO Box 750201
Dallas, TX 75275

OR

Attn: DASS
SMU Altshuler Learning Enhancement Center
5800 Ownby, Ste 202 
Dallas, TX 75275